GSU Library Research Guides: Genealogy: Books & Journals

Featured Titles

Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace. 2nd ed. by Mills, Elizabeth Shown
ISBN: 0806318066
Publication Date: 2009
Fundamentals of evidence analysis -- Fundamentals of citation -- Archives & artifacts -- Business & institutional records -- Cemetery records -- Census records -- Church records -- Local & state records : courts & governance -- Local & state records : licenses, registrations, rolls & vital records -- Local & state records : property & probates -- National government records -- Publications : books, CDs, maps, leaflets & videos -- Publications : legal works & government documents -- Publications : periodicals, broadcasts & web miscellanea.
Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook by Emily Anne Croom
ISBN: 1558703314
Publication Date: 1994-04-15
This intermediate-level guide describes the types of collections available in libraries throughout the country, discusses such sources as newspapers, city directories, and cemetery records, and includes sections on African American and Native American genealogy.
The Source by Loretto Dennis Szucs (Editor); Sandra Hargreaves Luebking (Editor)
ISBN: 1593312776
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Genealogists and other historical researchers have valued the first two editions of this work, often referred to as the genealogist's bible."" The new edition continues that tradition. Intended as a handbook and a guide to selecting, locating, and using appropriate primary and secondary resources, The Source also functions as an instructional tool for novice genealogists and a refresher course for experienced researchers. More than 30 experts in this field--genealogists, historians, librarians, and archivists--prepared the 20 signed chapters, which are well written, easy to read, and include many helpful hints for getting the most out of whatever information is acquired. Each chapter ends with an extensive bibliography and is further enriched by tables, black-and-white illustrations, and examples of documents. Eight appendixes include the expected contact information for groups and institutions that persons studying genealogy and history need to find. ""

Search the GSU Library Catalog

Search for books or journals at GSU with have the subject term of "genealogy"

Search for books or at GSU with have the subject term of "genetic genealogy"

Search the GSU Library GIL-Find Catalog
Note: Using this feature will take you away from this subject guide.

For more complex searches, use the Advanced Search option.

Search Tips:

Use quotes to search for phrases:
- "family history"
Use * for wild card searches:
- genealog* will return genealogy, genealogical, and genealogists
Use AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Note: AND and OR must be ALL caps:
- genealogy AND records - to retrieve results that include both terms
- ancestry OR lineage - to retrieve results that contain either term

Get Books From Other Libraries

Use the options listed below to find books not in the GSU library:

1. The GIL Universal Catalog, allows you to search and request books from any University System of Georgia library. After you find the book you need, click the "Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" link to have the book transfered to the GSU Library. Requests take anywhere from 4-7 days to arrive at the GSU library.

2. You can also check out books in person from any University System of Georgia library or Emory University's libraries using your PantherCard. Call the library before you go for information on their borrowing policies.

3. If you still are not finding enough information, use the WorldCat database, which allows you to search the collections of libraries throughout the world. Books located in WorldCat can be ordered via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) ILLiad system. To do so, first locate the book you would like to request in the WorldCat database. Then, log into ILLiad with your library ID number (on the back of your PantherCard) to place a request. ILL requests may take two weeks or more to arrive at the GSU Library, so plan ahead.

Still stuck? Ask a librarian for help.

FamilySearch - Family History Books

Family History Books via the Family History Library
Over 200,000 digitized genealogy and family history publications.

Where's My Book?

When you search GIL-Find, GSU Library's Online catalog, get this information to find the book:

Call number
Location
Status (Checked Out, Not Checked Out, Renewed, etc.)

These web pages provide more information

Still can't find your book? Here are your options:

Ask for help at the User Services desk on Library North 1
Use the Universal Catalog and the GIL Express service to get the book from another University System of Georgia library.