The GSU Library's databases are your portal to thousands of scholarly, peer reviewed, empirical, and evidence-based articles that you won't find in Google, Bing, or other open Internet search engines. Each of the databases below is a collection of articles that focuses on or includes nursing and health science research. The Library subscribes to over 300 of these databases, but not all of them are relevant to your discipline, so you'll only need to use a handful. You can see a full listing online of all the databases, if you're curious.
To access databases off-campus, you will be prompted for your Campus ID.
If you ever come across an article that asks you to pay, don't! You may have been accidentally logged out of the system (which communicates what GSU Library has paid for on your behalf), or we may not have paid for access to that journal. We can still get you articles that we do not own through our Interlibrary Loan system. It's free, and most articles come within 24 hours on business days. If you are ever unsure, contact the Nursing/Health Sciences Librarian for help.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Nursing and Allied Health
Description: CINAHL® Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons & Search Strategies.
PubMed
The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. It is expected that access to additional National Library of Medicine databases will be added in the future.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
MEDLINE with Fulltext
MEDLINE (with Full Text) (at EBSCOhost) combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with the complete text of articles from nearly 90 leading medical journals. This authoritative database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text includes: -the complete MEDLINE file of citations to articles from 1966 to the present -links from MEDLINE citations to full-text articles from 90 journals 1990 to the present -images available for all titles dating as far back as January 1997 -MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
Health Source: Nursing
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, it is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
PsychINFO
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) contains published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
