Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the catalog
Searches in GIL-Find will default to checking only GSU libraries.
To search for materials in other university libraries, select University System of Georgia from the pull-down menu to the right of the Search Box
Books available at GSU
America in Revolt During the 1960s and 1970s by
Offering a unique approach to studying one of the most eventful eras in American history, this volume looks at a dozen key events of the 1960s and 1970s and considers the possible paths history might have taken if the outcomes had been different.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by
From abolition and woman suffrage, to civil rights and the minimum wage, to the campaigns for clean air and clean water, struggles to mobilize groups to improve society and promote justice are among the enduring themes of American history. This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures. The set also examines the interrelationships among different movements, and how they shaped American politics, culture, and society.
Encyclopedia of Student and Youth Movements by
A comprehensive A-to-Z compilation of international student and youth movements and organizations, Encyclopedia of Student and Youth Movements begins with the Middle Ages and weaves its way through history to the present day, examining all facets of these important phenomena. This book details various political, social, religious, and academic societies, movements, and organizations worldwide, as well as significant persons and events.
Generation at the Crossroads by
Challenging prevailing media stereotypes, Generation at the Crossroads explores the beliefs and choices of the students who came of age in the 1980s and 1990s. For seven years, at over a hundred campuses in thirty states, Paul Loeb asked students about the values they held. He examines their concepts of responsibility, the links they draw between present and future, and how they view themselves in relation to the larger human community in which they live. He examines why a steadily increasing minority has begun to take on critical public issues, whether environmental activism, apartheid, hunger and homelessness, affordable education, or racial and sexual equity.
Reds, Whites, and Blues by
Music, and folk music in particular, is often embraced as a form of political expression, a vehicle for bridging or reinforcing social boundaries, and a valuable tool for movements reconfiguring the social landscape. Reds, Whites, and Blues examines the political force of folk music, not through the meaning of its lyrics, but through the concrete social activities that make up movements. Roy also traces the history of folk music, revealing the complex debates surrounding who or what qualified as "folk" and how the music's status as racially inclusive was not always a given. Examining folk music's galvanizing and unifying power, Reds, Whites, and Blues casts new light on the relationship between cultural forms and social activity.
Student Movements of The 1960s by
Offers multiple perspectives on momentous events. This volume introduces and provides a brief overview of the major factors that contributed to activism by college students in the 1960s, including historical background, controversies, and personal narratives.
Vision, Rhetoric, and Social Action in the Composition Classroom by
In this innovative volume, Kristie S. Fleckenstein explores how the intersection of vision, rhetoric, and writing pedagogy in the classroom can help students become compassionate citizens who participate "in" the world as they become more critically aware "of" the world. Fleckenstein argues that all social action--behavior designed to increase human dignity, value, and quality of life--depends on a person's repertoire of visual and rhetorical habits.
Where Have All the Flower Children Gone? by
What happened to the Vietnam protesters and civil rights activists? Where did their idealism lead them? And what do they feel they have contributed to the nation's political debate? Answers to these and many other questions can be found in the first-hand narratives, history, and photographs of Where Have All the Flower Children Gone?. Chapters examine such aspects as the origins of the student protest movement and the conservative backlash as well as the fates of draft evaders, expatriates, and conscientious objectors. Respondents explore the conflict between the various generations over Vietnam.
Doing Democracy by
Citizen activism has achieved many positive results. But the road to success for social movements is often complex, usually lasting many years, with few guides for evaluating the precise stage of a movement's evolution to determine the best way forward. Doing Democracy provides both a theory and working model for understanding and analyzing social movements, ensuring that they are successful in the long term. Beginning with an overview of social movement theory and the MAP (Movement Action Plan) model, Doing Democracy outlines the eight stages of social movements, the four roles of activists, and case studies from the civil rights, anti-nuclear energy, Central America, gay/lesbian, women's health, and globalization movements.
Policing the Campus by
With the rise of the corporate university and the academic industrial complex, colleges and universities throughout the United States are becoming monitored, armed, gated, and contracted out in the name of security. Policing the Campus is a collection of essays by activist academics and campus organizers from a variety of fields and movements. The book fully explores how higher education has entered a state of academic repression.
Rhetoric for Radicals by
Rhetoric for Radicals is intended for college-aged activists and organizers, written in a relaxed, approachable style. Provides practical guidelines for public speaking, writing, conversation, persuasion, political correctness, propaganda analysis, street theatrics, and new languages. Chapters include: Streets, Rhetoric, and Revolution A Call for Rhetorical Action Skills for the Multitude The Power of Language Body Rhetoric Twenty-First Century Radical Rhetoric Geared to college-aged radical activists and organizers, this book will also appeal to activists of any age who want to sharpen their message.
Social Movements by
Social movements around the world have used a wide variety of protest tactics to bring about enormous social changes, influencing cultural arrangements, public opinion, and government policies in the process. This concise yet in-depth primer provides a broad overview of theoretical issues in the study of social movements, illustrating key concepts with a series of case studies. It offers engaging analyses of the protest cycle of the 1960s, the women's movement, the gay and lesbian rights movement, the environmental movement, the new American right, and the global justice movement. Author Suzanne Staggenborg examines these social movements in terms of their strategies and tactics, the organizational challenges they faced, and the roles that the mass media and counter-movements played in determining their successes and failures.