This page helps you to select databases for your research and to learn more about databases for current events related topics in general.
If you are totally stumped about choosing a database for your research, this tutorial on Current Events databases in GALILEO may help you. It requires Flash/Shockwave.
Academic Search Complete is a large database that offers magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of fields. Articles are from both scholarly publications and general interest magazines. For help using Academic Search Complete, try Step by Step with Academic Search Complete.
If you can search Academic Search Complete, you can also search more specialized databases published by the same company. These include:
Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Electronic Library offer book excerpts and reports on popular current events issues. Opposing Viewpoints also has NPR transcripts, while CQ Electronic Library's reports include useful tables, charts, and statistics.
Opposing Viewpoints also offers its own selection of credible web pages with descriptions. If you need a web page for your research, Opposing Viewpoints' recommendations are a great place to start looking for one.
To help you learn to use Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Electronic Library, try Step by Step with Opposing View Points and Step by Step with CQ Electronic Library.
JSTOR is a nearly 100% full text database for older, scholarly articles, mainly in the humanities, and social sciences. That means the articles deal with: history, the arts, literature, and social issues. For help using JSTOR, try Step by Step with JSTOR.
LexisNexis Academic is the library's gateway to current newspaper articles. LexisNexis also covers the Atlanta Journal-Constitution for topics with a local focus. LexisNexis features articles from both American and foreign newspapers, and all articles listed in LexisNexis are full text. Note: some professors do not permit you to use newspaper articles in your research. Please ask your professor if you have any research restrictions.
To help you learn to use LexisNexis Academic try Step by Step with LexisNexis, and Accessing the Atlanta Journal-Constitution with LexisNexis.
Here are several important URLs to help with your research.
Frequently Asked Questions (from Clarkston).
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (from Cornell University -- Olin Library)
