GSU Library Research Guides: HIST 2200: Sharing Stories: Current US Newspapers

Looking for CURRENT Newspapers?

Select "Newspapers" in the Databases by Subject dropdown menu on the library's homepage to get a listing of all of our newspaper databases
(both current and historical).

***Please note: The library no longer subscribes to Nexis Uni.***

Try these databases for current newspaper coverage:

Access World News Research Collection 2024
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features over 14,000 reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Coverage from the 1980s to current, updated daily. Click here to watch video on how to conduct a basic search.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content featuring top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Global Newsstream
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
World News Digest
This database features a wealth of new material and a new, dynamic interface that makes it easier than ever to explore the events that shape our world
Factiva
A business research tool for finding information on politics, current events, and government data. Warning: Use is restricted to reader access for research & education purposes only. Text mining prohibited. Analytics of the content is also not permitted..
Provides limited access to Atlanta Business Chronicle. Login information is belowTO LOGIN TO FACTIVA
Go to: https://my.openathens.net/
Enter and select “Georgia State University Library” in the “Find My Institution” search box
The login information for Factiva will be displayed. If prompted, use the username and password provided.
NOTES:
- The Factiva link will not work if bookmarked. You must access via MyAthens each time.
- Our Factiva license is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you see an error message indicating “username and password is already in use,” it means the maximum number of simultaneous users has been reached.
- When you have finished your research, please log out so that other users may access the system.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
ABI/INFORM Collection
This database includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world from 1923 to the present.
ABI/INFORM Dateline
Contains local and regional business publications, including news, analysis, and information on markets and more from 1982 to the present.
Atlanta Journal-Constitution Historical Archive 1883 - Current
Nearly 120 years of coverage from Georgia's most influential newspaper. A comprehensive digital archive of local, state and national history.

Atlanta Journal - Constitution
The current/recent Atlanta Journal - Constitution is available through the US Newsstream database. To limit your search in this database to just articles from the AJC, include this string in the basic search box: pub(atlanta journal constitution) or use Advanced Search, type Atlanta Journal Constitution into a search box and select Publication title - PUB from the dropdown menu.

New York Times (ProQuest Newspapers)
Coverage ranges from 1980 - current. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.
Westlaw Campus Research
A comprehensive database of legal materials and journals, including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials
Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides access to Chronicle.com daily news, data, and analysis of current issues faced by universities dating back to 1989. Also provideds access to the Almanac of Higher Education, The Trends Report, and other newsletters with the creation of a free account.