GSU Library Research Guides: ENGL 1101 Rose Fall 2023: Databases

General Databases

These are our big, multi-disciplinary databases. They are good places to start when you are still working on your topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.

Subject Specific Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription containing over 80,000+ titles supporting the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A video library containing over 30K titles (279K segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. Including: the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and more.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, this database offers in depth articles to researchers seeking understanding in todays crucial issues in topics such as politics, business, society and education.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
An editorially curated pro/con database. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
Todays Science This link opens in a new window
This database bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveriesgiving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database features a wealth of new material and a new, dynamic interface that makes it easier than ever to explore the events that shape our world

Database Tutorials

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.