Databases - ENGL 1101 Perry - Research Paper - GSU Library Research Guides at Georgia State University

General Databases

These are the databases we went over in library class.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. PDF content dates back to 1887.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A video library containing over 30K titles (279K segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together over 160 major subject areas, including thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.

Specific Subject Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive bibliographic index database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Atlanta Journal-Constitution Historical Archive 1883 - Current This link opens in a new window
Nearly 120 years of coverage from Georgia's most influential newspaper. A comprehensive digital archive of local, state and national history.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. Including: the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and more.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly IIMP, Music Periodicals provides indexing and abstracting for international music periodicals and the full text for journals; subject coverage includes music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage from 1986 - current on formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
Todays Science This link opens in a new window
This database bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveriesgiving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.

Open Web Resources

Digital Public Library of America
Discover 46,665,749 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States!
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Database Tutorials

A more in-depth, longer version of the above video:

Research Databases at GSU Library - Full version (video 12:54)
Learn how to find information using Georgia State University Library's research databases. This full-length video includes lots of tips and strategies for getting the most of our databases.

ENGL 1101 Perry - Research Paper: Databases

General Databases

Specific Subject Databases

Open Web Resources

Database Tutorials