Civil Rights in Georgia for 8th Grade Georgia Studies Students

This research guide aligns with state of Georgia Social Studies Standards for Excellence: SS8H11 Evaluate the role of Georgia in the modern civil rights movement.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King Jr. addresses civil rights activists in Hurt Park, 1963
GSU Digital Collections
Martin Luther King Jr. with Rev. Roy Wilkins, 1968
GSU Digital Collections
Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr. on Georgia State University campus for a speech, February 1968
GSU Digital Collections
Martin Luther King, Jr. and Ralph David Abernathy touring an Atlanta, Georgia, slum, January 1968
GSU Digital Collections
Martin Luther King, Jr. and Coretta Scott King at his Nobel Peace Prize recognition dinner, National Conference of Christians and Jews, Dinkier Plaza Hotel, Atlanta, Georgia, January 27, 1965
GSU Digital Collections
Martin Luther King and Lonnie King being arrested at Rich's, Atlanta, Georgia, October 19, 1960
GSU Digital Collections
--Just for this one single day-- / Baldy, [1968]
Digital Library of Georgia
King, Dr. Martin Luther, Jr. - Civil rights leader, 1966
Digital Library of Georgia
WSB Clip of Martin Luther King, Jr., 1960
Digital Library of Georgia: WSB-TV Newsfilm Collection

SNCC and SCLC

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Conference, Atlanta, 1962
GSU Digital Collections
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Conference, Atlanta, 1962
GSU Digital Collections
African American picketer outside of the Atlanta Public Schools building, Atlanta, Georgia, September 19, 1967
GSU Special Collections
African Americans picketing for school integration outside of the Atlanta Public Schools building, Atlanta, Georgia, September 19, 1967
GSU Digital Collections
SCLC marchers carry and image of Dr. King during his funeral services, 1968
GSU Digital Collections
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
Digital Library of Georgia
Emancipation Meeting Flyer
Digital Library of Georgia
SCLC Leaders Marching
Digital Library of Georgia
The Student Voice Newsletter, October 1962
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
The Student Voice Newsletter, November 11, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
The Student Voice Newsletter, February 25, 1964
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections

John Lewis

John Robert Lewis (Individuals Active in Civil Disturbances)
Digital Library of Georgia
"Profile: John Lewis", March 9, 1965
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
sea Williams and John Lewis leading marchers across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Alabama, on Bloody Sunday
Alabama Department of Archives & History Digital Collections
John Lewis Leads Marchers across the Edmund Pettus Bridge, Selma, Alabama, 1965
Humanities Texas Digital Repository
Confrontations for Justice
National Archives Digital Exhibits
John Lewis
SNCC Digital Gateway

March on Washington

March on Washington
Digital Library of Georgia
March on Washington
Digital Library of Georgia
March on Washington Demonstrators Walking Towards Buses, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
A Crowd of Men and Women at the March on Washington, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
A Group of March on Washington Demonstrators Standing in Union Station, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
A Young Girl Holding a "I Have a Dream One America!" Sign Amongst March on Washington Demonstrators, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
A Group of Military Policemen Lined Up In Preparation for the March on Washington, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
Demonstrators Gathered on the Grounds of the Washington Monument, August 28, 1963
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections

Albany Movement

Digital Library of Georgia Resources
Collections and information on the Albany Movement from the Civil Rights Digital Library through the Digital Library of Georgia
Dr. William G. Anderson, Albany Movement President
Newsfilm clip of Dr. William G. Anderson discussing the relationship between the Albany City Commission and local citizens in Albany, Georgia, 1962 August 4
Upside-Down Justice: The Albany Cases
GSU Digital Collections
WALB newsfilm clip of James H. Gray asserting the outsider-run Civil Rights movement is bound to fail in Albany, Georgia, 1962 July 18
Georgia Digital Library
WALB newsfilm clip of Reverend Ralph D. Abernathy leading a kneel-in and being arrested in Albany, Georgia, 1962 July 27
Digital Library of Georgia
WALB newsfilm clip of Martin Luther King, Jr. answering reporters' questions about a federal injunction barring civil rights protests in Albany, Georgia, 1962 July 21
Digital Library of Georgia
News Releases Regarding the Albany Movement, 1962
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
Albany Manifesto, July 15, 1962
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections
A Group of Students Sitting in a Classroom, 1962
Atlanta University Center Digital Collections

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:25 PM
URL: https://research.library.gsu.edu/8thgradecivilrights
Print Page