Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary platform for e-books offering titles in a wide range of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers. Note: Ebook Central ebooks require authentication on and off campus.
Comprised of several eBook collections, including EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection, this resource provides access to multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of subject matter, varying from basic content to higher-level content.
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of the resources or use the subject links on the left-hand side to search specific works in the collection.
Includes the complete content of selected printed Salem Press reference works. Our collection includes literary criticism, history and science titles from the Critical Insights: Authors and Critical Insights: Works series, the Decades series, the Great Events from History series, the Great Lives from History series, Milestone Documents in African American History, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues and Encyclopedia of Global Resources.
This powerful collection of documents illumines the experiences of the original people of the United States during American Indian removal, offering readers a unique standpoint from which to understand American identity and the historical processes that have shaped it.The Indian Removal Act transformed the Native North American continent and precipitated the development of a national identity based on a narrative of vanishing American Indians.
Many Americans know something about the Navajo code talkers in World War II--but little else about the military service of Native Americans, who have served in our armed forces since the American Revolution, and still serve in larger numbers than any other ethnic group. But, as we learn in this splendid work of historical restitution, code talking originated in World War I among Native soldiers whose extraordinary service resulted, at long last, in U.S. citizenship for all Native Americans.
Making History: IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts is a unique contribution to the fields of visual culture, arts education, and American Indian studies. Written by scholars actively producing Native art resources, this book guides readers--students, educators, collectors, and the public--in how to learn about Indigenous cultures as visualized in our creative endeavors.
The issue of Native American mascots in sports raises passions but also a raft of often-unasked questions. Which voices get a hearing in an argument? What meanings do we ascribe to mascots? Who do these Indians and warriors really represent?
This book examines how the United States government, through the lens of presidential leadership, has tried to come to grips with the many and complex issues pertaining to relations with Indigenous peoples, who occupied the land long before the Europeans arrived.
American Indian & Native American Encyclopedias and Handbooks
This comprehensive, two-volume resource on American Indian history covers events from the time of ancient Indian civilizations in North America to recent happenings in American Indian life in the 21st century, providing readers with an understanding of not only what happened to shape the American Indian experience but also how these events--some of which occurred long ago--continue to affect people's lives today.
Extremely distant and distinct indigenous communities have over recent decades become more like themselves and more like each other - a paradox prevalent globally but inadequately explained by established analytical frames, particularly with regard to religion.
"Everything you know about Indians is wrong." As the provocative title of Paul Chaat Smith's 2009 book proclaims, everyone knows about Native Americans, but most of what they know is the fruit of stereotypes and vague images. The real people, real communities, and real events of indigenousAmerica continue to elude most people. The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History confronts this erroneous view by presenting an accurate and comprehensive history of the indigenous peoples who lived - and live - in the territory that became the United States.
An updated version of this award-winning set offers in-depth historical, cultural, and current information on 107 Native American groups. Organized by region, each entry features a locator map, a fact box (origin of name, location, population, language family), a chronology, and information under the following subheads: introduction, history, religion, language, buildings, subsistence, clothing and adornment, healing practices, customs, oral literature, current tribal issues, and short biographies.