Our collection includes literary criticism, history and science titles from the Critical Insights: Authors and Critical Insights: Works series, the Decades series, the Great Events from History series, the Great Lives from History series, Milestone Documents in African American History, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues and Encyclopedia of Global Resources.
A compelling reevaluation of the Enlightenment from one of its leading historians In this concise and powerful book, one of the world's leading historians of the Enlightenment provides a bracing and clarifying new interpretation of this watershed period.
A major new history of how the Enlightenment transformed people's everyday lives The Secular Enlightenment is a panoramic account of the radical ways that life began to change for ordinary people in the age of Locke, Voltaire, and Rousseau.
The Age of Exploration, which spanned roughly from 1400 to 1550, was the first time in history that European powers began actively looking far past their own borders to gain a better understanding of the world and its many resources.
Exploration: A Very Short Introduction surveys this quintessential human impulse, tracing it from pre-history to the present,from east to west around the globe, and from the depths of volcanoes to the expanses of space.Focusing on the theme of exploration as encounter, Stewart Weaver discusses the Polynesians in the Pacific, the Norse in the Atlantic, and other early explorers. He reflects on the Columbian "discovery" of the Americas, James Cook and the place of exploration in the Enlightenment, and Alexander von Humboldt's epochal encounter with tropical South America.
On 11 October 1492 the sun set on a clear Atlantic Ocean horizon and the night was cloudless with a late rising moon. As the lookouts high in the riggings of Christopher Columbus three ships strained their eyes into the golden light of the moon, near two oclock in the morning the watchman on the Pinta shouted out, Land, land igniting the era of exploration to the New World.
For decades William L. Langer's best-selling ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD HISTORY was the indispensable, authoritative guide to all of human history. Now, under the direction of a distinguished new editor, comes an updated and dramatically improved version for a new generation, the only encyclopedia of its kind with a bound-in, searchable compact disc of the complete text.
Africa has a long and fascinating history and is a place of growing importance in the world history curriculum. This detailed encyclopedia covers the history of African kingdoms from antiquity through the mid-19th century, tracing the dynasties' ties to modern globalization and influences on world culture before, during, and after the demise of the slave trade.
This book presents important research on Oceania. Topics discussed herein include the background and U.S. Relations with Australia; overseas workers and the role of professional associations; fisheries management; background and bilateral relations with the United States and New Zealand; U.S. defense deployments in Guam; and the Marshall Islands and Micronesia.
Authoritative yet accessible, the four-volume Encyclopedia of Latin America covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day.