GSU Library Research Guides: ENGL 1101 with Andrea Hudson-Tomblin: Finding Sources

Assignment Instructions

Topics for Argumentative Essay

Arts programs in schools; fast fashion; remote work, the four-day work week; ethics of eating meat; sports gambling; child labor; alternative medicine; consumer-level genealogy testing; digital privacy; electric vehicles; solitary confinement; repatriation of cultural artifacts; facial recognition technology; carpool lanes; animal testing; social media; cancel culture; paying college athletes; streaming vs. movie theaters

[Image by pixsila from Pixabay]

Below are different source types to support your argument that are available to you at GSU Library.

If you don't see what you need, visit our Databases page and read the descriptions. You are always welcome to contact your librarian, Amy Stalker, for more help.

GSU Research Databases by Subject

Library Handout from Class

Reports on Opposing Viewpoints

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
An editorially curated pro/con database. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, this database offers in depth articles to researchers seeking understanding in todays crucial issues in topics such as politics, business, society and education.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy, 1991 present.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Points of View Reference Center. Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Encyclopedia Entries and Historical Background

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online collection of encyclopedias for multidisciplinary research.

Newspaper Articles

News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of several major U.S. and international newspapers such as The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The New York Times, and the Times of London.
New York Times (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from 1980 - current. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences.

Scholarly Articles

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary. Use the filters on the LEFT to limit by Source Type, Publication Date and Subject.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Discover Search
When it doubt, start here! The Discover search searches across multiple databases and resources at the same time.