Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Georgia Radio Hall of Fame: 2020

This guide documents the inductees and award winners of the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.

Legacy Inductees

Mac Beauchat

Mac Beauchat grew up in Statesboro, Georgia. He moved to Orlando as a teen. After high school, he attended broadcast school in Tampa. Mac’s first radio job was in Alabama. He moved to Savannah and worked at WRHQ, WZAT, KIX 96, WSGA FM and other stations. On the air, he was known as “Big Mac” and was described by fans and friends as a big teddy bear.

Norman Brook

Norman Brooks's radio career began in York Pennsylvania. He worked in Florida before becoming program director at WGST in Atlanta. While there he met his wife Sarah; they had three daughters. Brooks fondly remembered his time at WGST including his friendship with Martin Luther King. In 1991 he taught classes at the Broadcasting Institute of Maryland. He passed away in 2019.

Jim Clemens

Jim Clemens was born in Minnesota. His parents operated a RADIO/TV repair shop. While in college, he began his radio career and played country music one night a week. After brief stops in El Paso and San Antonio, Jim moved to WPLO in Atlanta as an overnight jock. He eventually became the program director. In 1973 Billboard music recognized him for pioneering the country music format.

Hal Herrington, Jr.

Herrington was born and grew up in Waynesboro listening to Augusta station WBBQ. In 1973, he began his radio career at WBRO in Waynesboro as ' Humble Hal”. August radio noticed him, and he began a long career working at stations there including WAUG, SUNNY 105, WGUS, WBBQ, and WRXR. Hal was a popular host of remote broadcasts and known for community service.

Brad Majors

Brad Otwell Majors was born in Texas, but his family moved to Marietta. He became interested in radio listening to WFOM. After college he enlisted in the Air Force and after the service began in radio in North Carolina. He moved to Macon and worked at WAYS where he was on the air and involved in station promotions and community projects. He passed away in 2019.

Wade Medlock

Wade Medlock was a lifelong Atlanta resident. After receiving a journalism degree from Georgia State where his radio career began. After college, he worked at stations in Athens and Atlanta. In 1967, Medlock became a reporter and anchor for WGST. In 1983, he became a general assignment reporter, then was promoted to news director. Wade was co-founder of the Georgia Network. He won multiple awards.

Lamar Studstill

Lamar Studstill was born in Rhine, Georgia. He received his master's degree from Emory and was an announcer for stations in Florida, Alabama, and Macon. in 1982, his family purchased two stations in Swainsboro and more in Macon. In 1988, the Studstill family purchased stations in Illinois and still operate them. Mr. Studstill passed away in 2019.

Sidney Wood, Jr.

Sidney Wood, Jr. was born in Charlotte in 1965. He attended the University of Georgia and Morehouse College. Sidney's first radio jobs were at college stations. He used Kenny Diamond as his radio name and worked at WIGO, V103, KISS 104.7, and WAOK. Wood also had a voiceover career. He passed away in 2020.

Career Achievement Inductees

Greg Black Greg Black

Greg Black began his radio career in 1974 at WBRO in Waynesboro. He worked in Swainsboro and in Athens. Greg joined the Georgia News Network as an anchor and capital correspondent. In 1985 he began an 18-year stay as a news anchor for FOX 97. He moved to the CNN Radio Network then Newsradio 106.7. Greg shared two Peabody Awards and a Dupont Columbia award.

Tim Bryant Tim Bryant
Mark Cooper Mark Cooper

Mark Cooper is a native of Kansas. The majority of his 40-year radio career was spent in Atlanta at WKLS and WGST. Mark held many positions including PD, Air-talent, Act Exec, and GM. While Mark was Marketing and Promotion Director at WKLS/96 Rock in the 80s he created “96 Days of Summer” to introduce the station and established a 96ROCK apparel line.

Mark McCain Mark McCain

Mark McCain is from Powder Springs, Georgia. In 1973, His first radio job was at WYNR in Brunswick. After stops in Douglasville, Marietta, and Carrollton, in 1980 he joined WKLS in Atlanta where he was half of the Wakeup Crew. After that McCain did weekends at WKHX, WQXI, WFOX, and WYAY. He currently owns an entertainment company in Atlanta that provides event music.

Miller Pope Miller Pope

Miller Pope’s radio career began in 1980 at WGST. In 1982, Pope became a court-side engineer for the Georgia Tech basketball broadcasts. From 1985 until 1990, Miller was a studio engineer for the Braves Network, the Georgia Bulldogs Network, and other non-sports-related programming. Today Pope is a game day engineer for the Atlanta Falcons Network, and the Georgia Tech Football and Basketball networks.

Randy Reeves Randy Reeves

Randy Reeves credits a trip to a local radio station for his radio career. At age 16, he did afternoons at WCON Cornelia. While attending UGA at WDOL and WRFC in Athens. After graduation, he was PD and afternoon jock at WCGQ Columbus then, spent eleven years in Atlanta at WGST, Z-93, and Power 99. Today, Reeves is the imaging voice for radio stations worldwide.

Joe Willie Sousa Joe Willie Sousa

Brunswick native Joe Willie Sousa is a first-generation American of Portuguese descent. Joe began his radio career in Brunswick working nights and then morning drive. He and his wife robin host Brunswick's longest-running local morning show on 104.1 The Wave in the Golden Isles. Sousa is active in the community with several civic organizations & groups.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Music and Popular Culture Collections

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory