ENGL 1102H with Dr. Lauri Goodling: General Art History

Trace the global evolution of art and culture across millennia.

The Guggenheim Museum has made many ebooks available for free through the Internet Archive.

MetPublications is a portal to The Met's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.

Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

The Photoarchive is a study collection of more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition.

Over 7000 digitized images of advertisements

Photographs from the LIFE magazine photo archive, 1750s to today

Includes access to 300,000 open access images (labeled as "OASC")

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

The database provides searchable access to digitized photographs, prints, and drawings. Subjects and formats strongly represented by digital images include: the American Civil War; the Great Depression and World War II; architectural documentation for historic structures in the U.S.; historical photographs of the Middle East and Russia; baseball; history of flight; Lewis Hine's child labor photographs; political, theater, and WPA posters; editorial cartoons; and fine prints, especially by U.S. and Japanese artists.

What forces impelled our ancient ancestors to invent painting and sculpture? How has that creative impulse evolved over the millennia? Can we still detect the influence of the cave painter and the primitive sculptor in today’s artistic landscape? This five-part series explores the human capacity to produce—and to appreciate—artistic symbols, expressions, and narratives. Presented by acclaimed art historian and University of Cambridge lecturer Dr. Nigel Spivey, the series incorporates stunning video footage and state-of-the-art digital reconstructions as it spans 100,000 years and five continents—all in a quest to understand what is, arguably, humankind’s greatest innovation. (Access via Films on Demand)

Street art grew from its primary roots of 1970s graffiti but can be traced back to cave paintings as a communal form of artistic expression.

Art reflects society and directs culture; art history is humankind's history.

This acclaimed documentary series takes a look into the future at how art will be changing people's lives in the 21st century. Artists of many fields and levels of establishment are caught in the act of creation and discuss their work, what it means, and what the they are striving for. Hosted by a variety of celebrities, this special look at the state of art at the dawn of a new century focuses on all things artistic.

ArtBabble is a website that showcases high quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world.

This is an inspirational portrait of the artist Frederick Franck, author of The Zen of Seeing. Born on the border of Holland and Belgium, where both World Wars began, Franck has seen firsthand the horrors of modern warfare. Living now in upstate New York, his life's work - through painting, sculpture, and books - has been to help people see the humanity in others, so that they will not be able to tolerate or be involved in violence towards others.