Locating a journal article from a citation:
- Paste the article title into GoogleScholar (https://scholar.google.com/). There are at least three ways to check for the full text. (1)The title of the search result. (2) Links to full text content to the right of the title result. (3) The Findit@GSU button to theright of your search results if you have your library links set up.
- We might have full text even if GoogleScholar said we don’t. (If you used the Findit@GSU button in GoogleScholar and didn’t find the item, then most likely we don’t have it.) A very reliable method for finding out what the library has full text access to is the journal title search using the drop down menu from the main search box on the the library homepage.
Accessing Journals via a journal title search on the library homepage:
Most of the time, you will search a database, so that you can search hundreds of journals at once. However, sometimes you may want to browse or search within a specific journal. Here’s how:
- Go to the library home page (www.library.gsu.edu).
- In the main search box area, click the down arrow option beside the word “Discover” and choose “Journals”.
- Enter the title of the journal (not an article title).
- Click on “Search”.
- A list of results will appear. This list includes both print and online versions. The print versions are older editions. If you want the online version, look for the title that matches and that has the “online access” option listed in green near the bottom of that individual result.
- Click the “online access” link.
- A list of databases that cover that journal title will appear. The date range for coverage is listed, so consider that when selecting your database.
- The search interface is a little different for each database, but most databases let you browse and search for specific terms
