Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dental Hygiene: CINAHL

What is CINAHL?

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.

  • Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health
  • Covers 17 allied health disciplines, including nutrition and dietetics, physical therapy, sports medicine, respiratory therapy and public health
  • More than 3.6 million records dating back to 1937
  • Full text for more than 760 journals
  • Full text for more than 275 books/monographs
  • Over 150 interactive continuing educational (CE) modules
  • "Grey literature" such as nursing dissertations and conference proceedings

Additional materials include more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets and nearly 170 Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.

Basic Searching

Key Word Searching
Using keywords is the broadest way of searching and can result in a large number of citations. When you enter a keyword or word phrase in the search boxes and use the default fields selection, the database will look for these words within the Title, Abstract, and Subject Heading fields of each record.

You can refine your results with the limits filters located on the left side of the screen.  Adding limits will reduce your number of results.

Create an "My EBSCOHost" account to permanently save your results.

Look for the icon, or "Linked full text" to access the full article text.

CINAHL Advanced Search

The Advanced Search tab of CINAHL offers many ways to limit your search results.  Some key limiters are highlighted below. Articles can be limited to only those that are peer reviewed, evidence based practice, nurse authors, or you can select specific criteria to apply to patients, such as age group or gender. You can also search by Publication Type to find Practice Guidelines, Questionnaires, Review Articles and more.  Multiple limits can be applied to any search by holding down the Control key. Most of these limiters have to be applied before your search.