Community-Soil-Air-Water (C SAW): The Environmental Context for the Quarry Yards Region (Proctor Creek)

The Atlanta History Center strives to collect and document the lives of people in and around Atlanta. Their priority is to collect items that help us tell a story about Atlanta and its environs. The Center also holds the records for the City of Atlanta, Fulton County records, and the records of organizations such as the Atlanta Regional Commission.

The mission of the Archives is to preserve and provide permanent and historical materials that will assist in the operations of AH; to promote knowledge, research and understanding of the origins, functions, programs and goals of AH; and to collect archival materials that tell the story of AH.

The Archives Research Center’s collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work.

A special library of the Fulton County Library System (FCLS) formerly the Atlanta Fulton Public Library System (AFPLS), it is the first public library in the Southeast to offer specialized reference and archival collections dedicated to the study and research of African American culture and history and of other peoples of African descent.

The Emory Libraries place an emphasis on the following areas of study: African American history and culture, Modern political and southern historical collections, Literature and poetry, Rare books, Emory University archives.

The Georgia Archives identifies, collects, provides access and preserves Georgia’s historical documents.

The Georgia Tech Archives collects, preserves, exhibits, and makes available for research institutional archives, manuscripts, personal papers, organizational records, visual materials, memorabilia, rare books, and architectural collections. These materials primarily document the history of Georgia Tech and the activities of its faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Georgia Tech students and faculty have long worked on urban planning and design issues in the Atlanta area. GT may be especially useful for dissertation access.

Our collections primarily document people and organizations in the 20th- and 21st-century American South. Our collecting areas are: University Archives, Southern Labor, Women, Gender & Sexuality, Popular Culture, Music, Photographic Collections, and Social Change.