Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links & Databases
Equal Justice Initiative
EJI believes we need a new era of truth and justice that starts with confronting our history of racial injustice. American history begins with the creation of a myth to absolve white settlers of the genocide of Native Americans: the false belief that nonwhite people are less human than white people. This belief in racial hierarchy survived slavery’s abolition, fueled racial terror lynchings, demanded legally codified segregation, and spawned our mass incarceration crisis.
Race Relations Abstracts
This is an index containing thousands of records relating specifically to the relationship between races, including bibliographic records covering ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A portal for slavery studies offering primary source documents and secondary sources (an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology, and bibliography) allowing for exploration and comparison of material related to slavery, abolition, and social justice.
Racism and Resistance by
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Even a cursory look at U.S. society today reveals that protests against racial discrimination are by no means a thing of the past. What can we learn from past movements in order to understand the workings of racism and resistance? In this book, Franziska Meister revisits the Black Panther Party and offers a new perspective on the Party as a whole and its struggle for racial social justice. She shows how the Panthers were engaged in exposing structural racism in the U.S. and depicts them as uniquely resourceful, imaginative and subversive in the ways they challenged White Supremacy while at the same time revolutionizing both the self-conception and the public image of black people. Meister thus highlights an often marginalized aspect of the Panthers: how they sought to reach a world beyond race - by going through race. A message well worth considering in an age of "color blindness".
Understanding Mass Incarceration by
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
We all know that orange is the new black and mass incarceration is the new Jim Crow, but how much do we actually know about the structure, goals, and impact of our criminal justice system? Understanding Mass Incarceration offers the first comprehensive overview of the incarceration apparatus put in place by the world’s largest jailer: the United States. Drawing on a growing body of academic and professional work, Understanding Mass Incarceration describes in plain English the many competing theories of criminal justice--from rehabilitation to retribution, from restorative justice to justice reinvestment. In a lively and accessible style, author James Kilgore illuminates the difference between prisons and jails, probation and parole, laying out key concepts and policies such as the War on Drugs, broken windows policing, three-strikes sentencing, the school-to-prison pipeline, recidivism, and prison privatization. Informed by the crucial lenses of race and gender, he addresses issues typically omitted from the discussion: the rapidly increasing incarceration of women, Latinos, and transgender people; the growing imprisonment of immigrants; and the devastating impact of mass incarceration on communities. Both field guide and primer, Understanding Mass Incarceration will be an essential resource for those engaged in criminal justice activism as well as those new to the subject.
The Civil Rights Movement by
Publication Date: 2019-07-19
Drawing on the most recent scholarship, The Civil Rights Movement provides a concise overview of the most important social movement of the 20th century and will expand readers' understanding of the fight for racial equality. Ideal for research, this one-stop reference provides a unique introduction to the Civil Rights Movement as it includes its development, issues, and leaders. Six essays capture the drama and conflict of the struggle, covering, among other topics, the origins of the movement, the role of women, the battle for racial equality in the North, and the lasting effects of the protests of the 1950s and 1960s. Ready-reference features include a chronology, a bibliography, photographs, and biographical profiles of 20 activists, from Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X to Ella Baker and Angela Davis. The book also contains a selection of primary sources, including presidential addresses, Supreme Court decisions, and FBI reports on Malcolm X and Stokeley Carmichael. Based on the latest scholarship in the field, this guide gives readers all of the analysis and reference sources they need to expand their understanding of the Civil Rights movement. Offers up to date information based on the latest scholarship in the field Combines analytical essays with historical documents and concise biographies Examines traditional as well as new themes, from the rise of Martin Luther King, Jr. to the battle against Jim Crow in the North Ties the historic struggles of the 1950s and 1960s to the movements today against mass incarceration and police abuse
Antiracism Inc by
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
Antiracism Inc. traces the ways people along the political spectrum appropriate, incorporate and neutralize antiracist discourses to perpetuate injustice. It also examines the ways organizers continue to struggle for racial justice in the context of such appropriations. Antiracism Inc. reveals how antiracist claims can be used to propagate racism, and what we can do about it. While related to colorblind, multicultural, and diversity discourses, the appropriation of antiracist rhetoric as a strategy for advancing neoliberal and neoconservative agendas is a unique phenomenon that requires careful interrogation and analysis. Those who co-opt antiracist language and practice do not necessarily deny racial difference, biases, or inequalities. Instead, by performing themselves conservatively as non-racists or liberally as ‘authentic’ antiracists, they purport to be aligned with racial justice even while advancing the logics and practices of systemic racism.Antiracism Inc. therefore considers new ways of struggling toward racial justice in a world that constantly steals and misuses radical ideas and practices.
Racial Justice in America by
Publication Date: 2003-09-16
Racial Justice in America examines a volatile social issue that is always in the news, focusing on five critical areas: criminal justice, education, employment, living accommodations, and political participation. By 1451, Africans were used as slaves in the Madeiras and Canary Islands. Not until 1502 did they arrive in the New World. All told, nearly 10 million Africans--equal to the year 2000 populations of Virginia and Mississippi combined--were transplanted across the Atlantic as slaves. Despite the termination of the U.S. slave trade in l807 and emancipation after the Civil War, members of a racial couple married as late as l958 were jailed for one year for breaking Virginia's antimiscegenation law. So where are we today? This book, which provides historical perspective and a discussion of different types of discrimination, examines how systemic changes have been made and analyzes the debates that still exist. An introductory essay briefly reviews the history of Africans in America, then examines five areas of life where racial justice has been particularly relevant The book includes coverage of significant people, places, and events, from the abolition of slavery in Vermont in 1777, to the shocking murder of Medgar Evers in 1963, to the triumphant grand slam by golfer Tiger Woods in 2000-2001
Race in America
This film documents the increasingly common conversation taking place in homes across the country between parents of color and their children, especially sons, about how to behave if they are ever stopped by the police. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
How We Can Start to Heal the Pain of Racial Division
Where does it hurt? It's a question that activist and educator Ruby Sales has traveled the US asking, looking deeply at the country's legacy of racism and searching for sources of healing. In this moving talk, she shares what she's learned, reflecting on her time as a freedom fighter in the civil rights movement and offering new thinking on pathways to racial justice.
We Need to Talk About Injustice
In an engaging and personal TEDtalk—with cameo appearances by his grandmother and Rosa Parks—human rights lawyer Bryan Stevenson shares some hard truths about America's justice system, starting with a massive imbalance along racial lines: a third of the country's black male population has been incarcerated at some point in their lives. These issues, which are wrapped up in America's unexamined history, are rarely talked about with this level of candor, insight, and persuasiveness. Stevenson is the founder and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative.
Fighting for LGBTQ Rights
The 10th Amendment to the Constitution allows each state to set its own laws. That's meant that in Colorado, LGBTQIA+ rights have often been repressed. Meet the students at William J. Palmer High School who took their school district to court - and won!
Never Again Action: Young Jews Against ICE
In June 2019, reports of immigrant children detained in cages on the US-Mexico border stunned America. Meet the extraordinary, Jewish people working in peaceful protest to demand change from the ICE.
The Battle of the Sexes
Although half of Americans are female, women make up just 25% of Congress. For every dollar a man earns in America, his female colleagues can expect to make on average just 79 cents. But women have been treated unfairly in America since day one. In this video, we reopen the age-old Battle of the Sexes debate and see just how much further we can come in America.
At the turn of the millennium, Asian Americans have become the fastest growing population in the U.S. It is a time of tremendous change, as the country tackles urgent debates over immigration, race and economic disparity. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
During the Cold War years, Asian Americans are simultaneously heralded as a Model Minority, and suspected as the perpetual foreigner. It is also a time of ambition, as Asian Americans aspire for the first time to national political office. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
Building A Movement
During the 2018 midterms, women of color run for political office in record numbers. Candidates and organizers mobilize to expand the electorate, inspire voters to turn out and make history in the process. Distributed by PBS Distribution.