GSU Library Research Guides: GEOL 1121H: Library Research Guide (Polly Bouker): Resources for Project 2

Introduction

Project 2: In depth research about a global application of topic from one of the following (as relating to one interdisciplinary theme found below): Weathering, Sedimentary Rocks, Metamorphism, Crustal Deformation, Earthquakes, Groundwater, Streams, Shorelines, Mass Wasting

INTERDISCIPLINARY THEME 1: Geology and human suffering – children mining minerals, earthquakes in poverty-stricken areas, soil loss and food insecurity, etc

INTERDISCIPLINARY THEME 2: Geology and military conflict – water wars between enemy nations, politics of petroleum trade, structural geology and impact on troop movements in WW2, etc

INTERDISICPLINARY THEME 3: Geology and Economic Development (nation building)

Ebooks

Below are links to library ebooks on the following topics.

Scholarly Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution, and more, 1880-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the North American and International Geoscience literature. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669 - present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific databases offering journal articles and book chapters covering scientific, technical, and medical (STM) and social sciences research
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource includes a wide variety of encyclopedias and almanacs.

Websites

How to Evaluate Online Resources

When you encounter any kind of source, consider:

Authority - Who is the author? What is their point of view?
Purpose - Why was the source created? Who is the intended audience?
Publication & format - Where was it published? In what medium?
Relevance - How is it relevant to your research? What is its scope?
Date of publication - When was it written? Has it been updated?
Documentation - Did they cite their sources? Who did they cite?

*Credit: Berkeley Library