Journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, thse editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers. If approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline.
Google Scholar- This interdisciplinary search engine links to many GSU full text articles and full text books available through Google books.
Project Muse and JSTOR provide full text articles from many important journals in the humanities and social; sciences. Search these databases at the same time by checking Search back issues of JSTOR in the Project Muse article search.
How do I find a journal if I have a citation?
EBSCOhost Databases: You can combine searches in Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Index, Masterfile Premier, and MLA International Bibliography or search them separately. Use the My EBSCOhost feature to save articles to your account. Since the topics for this course cover ancient literature, databases such as Academic Search Complete that index a wide variety of sources may give you the best results.
Research Library: Find scholarly articles, magazines, and newspapers. Use the Topic tab to explore a topic.
For a complete list of of GSU databases, go to Find Articles.
Databases may include the full article, but sometimes only article citation is available.
Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.
Not every journal article is available online, so you may need to find it in print. Search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book.
The process of finding articles can be confusing at first. Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!
Use GIL, GSU's library catalog, to find journals in our library by using the advanced keyword option then using Narrow My Search to Location 'University Library Periodicals'. Then enter a keyword such as 'films','cinema', 'movies', 'motion pictures', or 'literature'. You may also want to select Status: Currently published. You can browse a list of journals available in GIL by using this technique.
A keyword search is a good place to start if you are looking for information on a topic. If you have more specific information, you can also search by title, subject or author.
