Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Grey Literature?
There are many definitions of grey literature, but it is usually understood to mean literature that is not formally published in sources such as books or journal articles. It may be described as ephemeral, invisible, informal, underground, etc., that is, literature that may be unevaluated, not peer-reviewed.
Grey Literature exists in many formats: reports-including preprints; preliminary progress and advanced reports; institutional, internal, technical, and statistical reports; research memoranda; state-of-the-art reports; market research reports; reports of commissions and study groups; as well as
* conference proceedings
* technical specifications and standards
* translations (not distributed commercially)
* technical and commercial documentation
* official documents (issued in limited numbers)
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I provides a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Thousands of new dissertations and theses are added each year. For dissertations done in 1997 and later, PDFs of some titles are available.
More databases to try
Comprehensively search preprint databases to discover cutting edge,
yet-to-be published or reviewed biomedical research articles. Resources searched: arXiv (Quantitative Biology), bioRxiv, F1000Research, PeerJ Preprints.
CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
Contains over 30,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.
Directory of Published Papers (DoPP)
Since 1965, InterDok has identified resulting material from 280,000+ conferences, congresses, meetings & symposia.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature.
Hooked on Evidence
Must be APTA member. Hooked on Evidence is APTA's "grassroots" effort to develop a database containing current research evidence on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report
The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of alerting readers to new grey literature in health services research and selected public health topics. All resources are added and indexed in our Online Catalog.
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources from collections worldwide.
OpenGrey aka OpenSIGLE (Europe)
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe contains 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide and access to The British Library Document Supply Centre's collection of conference proceedings.
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology. Includes information on related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Direct Opt Out Link
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation with more than 75,000 resources, including organizations, agencies, Internet resources, reports, and research projects. From the National Rehabilitation Information Center.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals in subjects such as biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.