Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The GSU Library has a search box called Discover on the homepage. Should you use it or search one of the library's databases (A-Z databases)? If you try it, here are some tips:
- Be specific with key words. Example: search "local food movement". Put phrases in quotation marks.
- Use the Advanced search to limit with additional keywords such as United States.
- Use the limits on the left such as scholarly (peer reviewed) articles, full text, or library catalog.
You may want to consider searching a database in the A to Z list such as Academic Search Complete , JSTOR, or Proquest Research Library.
MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Provides complete, full-text content in digital humanities and social science from over 120 publishers. Scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies are indexed and peer-reviewed, and full-text access includes current content from over 400 titles.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Databases may include the full article, but sometimes only article citation is available.
Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.
Not every journal article is available online, so you may need to find it in print. Search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book.
The process of finding articles can be confusing at first. Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!