Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia State University History: Resources

A guide to the history of Georgia State University.

Research Sources for University History

COLORS

Red and White:

  • Evening Signal, Vol. 1, No. 3 (December 11, 1933), p. 1
  • Nocturne 1934, Book One (School), "Student Council"

Choosing new colors; Black and White controversy:

  • University Signal, [Vol. 14, No. 3] (October 14, 1955), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 5] (November 11, 1955), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 8] (January 16, 1956), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 9] (January 27, 1956), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 11] (February 24, 1956), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 15] (May 4, 1956), p. 1
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 16] (May 18, 1956), p. 1
  • Ibid., Vol. 14, No. 17 (June 1, 1956), p. 11
  • Georgia State Signal, Vol. 14, No. 2 (August 10, 1956), p. 6
  • Ibid., Vol. 15, No. 2 (September 28, 1956), p. 7
  • Ibid., Vol. 15, No. 5 (October 23, 1956), p. 1 and p. 4
  • Ibid., Vol 15, No. 6 (October 30, 1956), p. 4
  • Ibid., Vol. 15, No. 10 (January 18, 1957), p. 1

Red and Gray:

  • Georgia State Signal, Vol. 15, No. 11 (February 1, 1957), p. 1
  • President's Office (Langdale) Records, G87-21:  Box 15, "Coat of Arms" folder
  • Ibid., Box 17, "GSU History" folder
  • Ibid., Box 19, "Seal and Insignia" folder

Red, Blue, White:

  • Emphasis GSU, Vol. 17, No. 3 (April 1990)

MASCOTS AND TEAM NAMES

Team name is "Owls":

  • Rampway [yearbook], 1947

Team name is "Ramblers":

  • Rampway [yearbook], 1948-1956

Team name is "Panthers":

  • Rampway [yearbook], 1957-1961
  • Georgia State Signal, Vol. [15], No. 9 (December 4, 1956), p. 4

Choosing and naming a mascot:

  • University Signal, [Vol. 14, No. 9] (January 27, 1956), p. 1--"Panthers over Penguins"
  • Ibid., [Vol. 14, No. 3] (October 14, 1955), p. 1
  • Georgia State University Signal, Vol. 46, No. 37 (May 24, 1988), p. 16-A
  • Signal, Vol. 47, No. 34 (May 2, 1989), p. 3-A--" 'Urbie' the Panther mascot gets new name, caricature" [created 1989]
  • Rampway, 1989, pp. 8-9--"GSU's New Mascot--Urbie"
  • GSU Printed Collection, Box 7B (G2005-25)--"Pounce," by Real Characters Inc. [created 1993]
  • Insider, Vol 3, No. 39 (October 25, 1993) and Vol. 3, No. 41 (November 8, 1993), in GSU Printed Collection, Box 4-A 
  • Villager, Vol. 10, Issue 2 (October 1, 2009), p. 4--"Pounce gets a makeover," in GSU Printed Collection, Box 4-C

SCHOOL NAME

"Georgia State College of Business Administration":

  • University Signal, [Vol. 14, No. 3], (October 14, 1956), p. 1

"Georgia State University":

  • Atlanta Journal Constitution, (September 10, 1969)
  • Georgia State University Signal, Vol. 28, No. 4 (September 15, 1969), p. 1

COAT OF ARMS, SEAL, INSIGNIA, LOGOS, SYMBOLS

  • Nocturne, 1940, half-title
  • Gateway, 1940, cover
  • Georgia State College Signal, Vol. 24, No. 10 (November 18, 1965), p. 11
  • Georgia State University Signal, Vol. 28, No. 12 (November 13, 1969), p. 1
  • Office of the President (Langdale) Records, G87-21:  Box 15, "Coat of Arms" folder
  • Ibid., Box 17, "GSU History" folder
  • Ibid., Box 19, "Seal and Insignia" folder
  • Emphasis GSU, Vol. 17, No. 3 (April 1990)
  • Ibid., Vol. 17, No. 4 (June 1990)

 MOTTO (Veritas, Valet, Vincet)

  • Office of the President (Langdale) Records, G87-21:  Box 15, "Coat of Arms" folder
  • Ibid., Box 17, "GSU History" folder
  • Ibid., Box 19, "Seal and Insignia" folder

MEDALLION AND MACE

  • Profile, Vol. 8, No. 10 (March 14, 1990)
  • Emphasis GSU, Vol. 17, No. 4 (June 1990)

COLLEGE BANNERS

  • Profile, Vol. 8, No. 10 (March 14, 1990)
  • Emphasis GSU, Vol. 17, No. 4 (June 1990)

Published Sources

Flanders, Bertram Holland. A New Frontier in Education. [Atlanta, GA]: Dept. of English, Atlanta Division, University of Georgia, 1955.

Reed, Merl E. "The Struggle for State-Supported Higher Education in a Southern Regional Center: Atlanta and the 'Mother Institution,' 1944-1955." In the Georgia Historical Quarterly, Vol. LXXX, No. 3, Fall 1996.

Smith, David, Jr. Georgia State University: A Historical and Institutional Mission Perspective, 1913-2002. Atlanta, GA: Dept. of Educational Policy Studies, College of Education, Georgia State University, 2005.

Reed, Merl E. Educating the Urban New South: Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 2009.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Blogs About University Centennial

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory