Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Planning Atlanta Collection
Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s
Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s is a digital collection of material related to city planning and urban development in Atlanta. The collection consists of city planning maps, city planning publications, demographic data, photographs depicting planning activities, oral histories, and aerial photographs.
Click on the map above for more detailed maps of Atlanta neighborhoods and Neighborhood Planning Units.
Census/Demographic Maps and Data
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US census data from 1790 to the present. All data from Social Explorer can be exported as Excel, SPSS, and CSV files for ArcGIS.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, health and marketing data. Nearly all of the data can be exported for use with ArcGIS. *Note* to save your work, create a username and password.
Business Analyst Online
**Contact John Tougas (email@example.com) to access this database** Business Analyst Online is a Web-based solution that applies GIS technology to extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data to deliver on-demand analysis, presentation-ready reports, and maps
**Contact John Tougas (firstname.lastname@example.org) to access this database**
Recent Atlanta Area Maps
Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) Interactive Maps
Create metropolitan-wide maps using various layers and data.
City of Atlanta Interactive Maps
Create Atlanta maps using various layers and data.
The ATLMaps platform, a collaboration between Georgia State University and Emory University, combines archival maps, geospatial data visualization, and user contributed multimedia location pinpoints to promote investigation into any number of issues about Atlanta. While currently focused on one city to demonstrate the power of stacking thousands of layers of information on one place, this innovative online platform allows users to layer an increasing number of interdisciplinary data to address the complex issues that any city poses. The project looks to offer a framework that incorporates storytelling reliant on geospatial data and for normalizing input across a range of data sets about so that material can be cross-compared in novel ways, allowing users to make connections between seemingly unrelated data sources and ask questions that would not be apparent when only looking at one particular project. The ATLMaps project will also encourage knowledgeable members of the university and local communities to curate data on the site to demonstrate the possibilities for synthesizing material across projects and data types
Historical Atlanta Area Maps
Planning Atlanta: A New City in the Making, 1930s – 1990s (A large collection of city planning maps)
A collection of historical Atlanta city planning maps primarily from the City of Atlanta and the Atlanta Regional Commission. All maps have been georeferenced and can be viewed in Google Maps and Google Earth. Also, users can download GeoTIFF files and JPEG images of the maps.
Aerial Photographs of Atlanta, Georgia, 1949
Aerial Survey of Atlanta, Georgia, 1949 contains scanned images of 124 aerial photographs (43 x 80 cm, scale 1"= 200').
MARBL Historic Map Collection
A collection of digitized historical maps of Atlanta and Georgia from Emory Libraries.
Georgia's Virtual Vault
County, plat and other maps from the Georgia Archives.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1970 (GSU Login Required)
Digital Sanborn Maps provides GSU users with maps from Georgia cities from 1867 to the 1940s.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1884-1922 (Public Access)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities, 1884-1922 consists of 4,445 maps by the Sanborn Map Company depicting commercial, industrial, and residential areas for 133 municipalities.
Atlanta and Metro Atlanta GIS Data