Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Metropolitan Atlanta: Find Newspapers

The Great Speckled Bird

Atlanta Newspapers

 

Indexes & Issues

Time Period Covered Call Number and/or Library
American Jewish Review 1913-1916 Emory University Libraries
Atlanta Business Chronicle
1979-1993
Georgia State University Library
Per. Fol. HF3163.A8 A84 (LN3)
1993-2003
Georgia State University Library
Per. Micr. HF3163.A8 A84 (LN1)
2004-Present
Georgia State University Library
Per. Fol. HF3163.A8 A84 (LN3) Current year shelved on Current Shelves on LN1.
1989-2004
Georgia State University Library
Atlanta Constitution Index Only (no full-text articles)
1868-1945 Historic Archives Online
1925-1954
Georgia State University Library
Microfilm AN2.G4 A726
1971-1979
Georgia State University Library
AI21.A87 A86
Reference (LN 2)
1980-1982
Georgia State University Library
Printed Cards
Ask at Reference (LN 2)
1982-Present
Georgia State University Library
AI21.A87 A86
Reference (LN 2)
Atlanta Constitution (full-text articles)
1868-1984
Georgia State University Library
1868-present
Georgia State University Library
AN2.G4 A726
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
1991-Present
Georgia State University Library
Atlanta Daily Examiner 1857 Online Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive
Atlanta Daily Herald 1873-1876 Online Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive
Atlanta Daily World (African American Newspaper) 1931-1932, 1934-1964, 1970
Georgia State University Library
AN2.G4 A723
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
1931-2003
Georgia State University Library
Atlanta Georgian 1906-1922 Emory University Libraries
Atlanta Independent (African American Newspaper) 1903-1928 Emory University Libraries
Atlanta Inquirer (African American Newspaper)
1980-1987
Georgia State University Library
News AN2.G4 A725 (LN3)
1990-Present
Georgia State University Library
News AN2.G4 A725 (LN3) Current issues shelved on Current Shelves on LN1.
1991-2006
Georgia State University Library
Atlanta Journal Index 1944-1979
Georgia State University Library
Microfiche AI21.A87
1982-Present
Georgia State University Library
AI21.A87 A86
Reference (LN 2)
Georgia State University Library
AN2.G4 A726
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
Atlanta Journal 1883-Present
1991-Present
Georgia State University Library
Atlanta Jewish Times  1987-Present Emory University Libraries
Atlanta Times  1964-1965
Georgia State University Library
AN2.G4 A727
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
Daily Intelligencer 1858-1867 Emory University Libraries
Great Speckled Bird (Underground Newspaper) 1968-1976
Georgia State University Library
Jeffersonian 1906-1917 Emory University Libraries
Jewish Sentiment 1897-1901 Emory University Libraries
Jewish South 1877-1879 Emory University Libraries
Kourier (Ku Klux Klan Newspaper) 1924-1936 Emory University Libraries
Southern Israelite 1931-1986 Emory University Libraries
Southern Voice (Gay News) 2002-2009
Georgia State University Library
Online LGBT Life (search Southern Voice in LGBT Life)

National Newspapers and Magazines at GSU

 

Indexes & Issues

Time Period Covered Call Number/Location in The GSU University Library
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
(Includes nearly 400 titles)
1800-1899 Online 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Confederate Newspapers
[This collection is a mixture of newspapers published in Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama between 1858-1866.]
1858-1866 E482.C66
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
Harper's Weekly 1857-1883

Online HarpWeek

1860-1872 AN2.N7 N547
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
LexisNexis Academic (contains thousands of newspapers) 1980-Present Online LexisNexis Academic
The Nation Archive 1865-present Online The Nation Archive
The New Republic Archive 1914-present Online The New Republic Archive
The New York Herald 1860-1865 Online The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
New York Times 1851-2003 Online Historical New York Times
1857-2009 AN2.N7 N573
Newspaper Microfilm (1857-2002 in storage)
2008-Present Digital Microfilm
1980-Present Online Lexis-Nexis
New York Tribune 1841-1887 AN2.N7 N578
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
ProQuest Newspapers (contains over 300 US and international newspapers) 1800s-Present Online ProQuest Newspapers
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 1890-1982 Online Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Richmond Enquirer 1804-1867 AN2.V8 R574
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
1860-1865 Online The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Wall Street Journal Index 1955-Present HG1.W26 (LN 5)
1973-Present Online Lexis-Nexis
Wall Street Journal 1889-2009 HG1.W154
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
2008-Present Digital Microfilm
1979-Present Factiva
Washington Post Index 1877-1986 Historic Archives Online
Washington Post 1969-2009 AN2.D6 W497
Newspaper Microfilm (LN 1)
2008-Present Digital Microfilm
1977-Present Lexis-Nexis