Skip to Main Content

Southern Labor Archives: Voices of Labor Oral History Project: Home

Interviews with labor leaders from Georgia and across the South.

Voices of Labor Interviewees

A

Acuff, Stewart

Adkins, Herman and Gladys

B

Bexley, Harry (joined by Jim Weldon)

Bolden, Dorothy

Bonanno, Nick

Burke, Eddie

Butler, James Herbert "Herb"

C

Carter, Frank and Howard Ward

Counihan, Michael

F

Flynn, Mike

G

Giles, J. W.

Green, Herb

H

Halstead, Fred (with son F. Roger)

Hamilton, Elmer

J

Joye, Harlon

K

Kadalie, Modibo

Kehrer, E. T. "Al"

Key, Charlie

Knight, Faye (with Louise Warren and Betty Bendimire)

L

Lawrence, Ken

M

Mabry, Herbert "Herb"

McIver, Harold

Meers, Ralph

Merritt, Joe

Moss, Charles

O

Orange, Reverend James

Orrock, C. D. "Charlie"

P

Parker, James

Porch, Robert "Ben"

Powell, William R. "Billy"

R

Ray, Richard

Russo, Gene

S

Stanford, Morgan

Stanley, Ruth

V

Villano, Marco

W

Walker, Mary Lynn

Walker, James "Jimmy"

Williams, Clarence

West, Edgar

Y

Yarborough, Thomas "Tommy"

About the Voices of Labor Oral History Project

The Southern Labor Archives of Georgia State University initiated a labor oral history project, beginning in the fall of 1994. Despite a rich labor heritage, most accounts of Georgia's past have overlooked its workers and their unions. This project continues to help correct this omission and fill in these gaps by gathering the stories of key figures in the local and state labor movement. The stories are collected through interviews, autobiographical in nature, covering the subject's personal background, work history, participation in the labor movement and in key events and developments in local labor history.

The Voices of Labor Oral History Project, through the staff of the Southern Labor Archives, will assure that all interviews are tape or video recorded, transcribed and cataloged.  They are available at the Southern Labor Archives, Special Collections and Archives Department, Georgia State University Library.

Donors to this project have included:

Amalgamated Transit Union, Local Division 732

Bakery, Confectionary & Tobacco Workers International Union Local No. 362T

Georgia State UAW Community Action Program

Graphic Communications Union Local 527S

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 613

Service Employees International Union

Sheet Metal Workers'International Association #85

International Ladies Garment Workers Union, Southeast Regional Office

Organized Labor & Workmen's Circle

Organized Labor Awards Banquet Archives and History Committee

Support and Funding

The program's basic support is provided by The University Library at Georgia State University and is augmented by funds generated through donations. An Endowment Fund was established to help sustain the program's interviews and projects well into the twenty-first century. For more information, please contact Labor Archivist Traci Drummond (404.413.2880), or address specific donation inquiries to Natalie Blake, Director of Development (404.413.2707).

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Southern Labor Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory