Missionary Materials - HIST 4820: Cross-Cultural Encounters in World History | Primary Sources - GSU Library Research Guides at Georgia State University

Mission Collections at Emory University

Emory University Library has a rich collection of missionary-related primary source materials.

Click here for an overview of their Mission Collections on microfilm.

Emory's Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Library (MARBL) also has materials relating specifically to Methodist history, including missionary materials. Click here to see their Methodist History research guide.

A Research Guide within a Research Guide!

The Yale University Divinity School Library has a comprehensive research guide on Missions and World Christianity, including information on digital libraries relating to missionaries and mission work.

Call numbers are specific to Yale. You can look up these resources in GIL or GIL-Find.

Selected Resources

Send the light : Lottie Moon’s letters and other writings by Lottie Moon; Keith Harper, ed.
Call Number: BV3427.M55 A4 2002
Library North 5
Missionaries in the witness box : personal testimonies from the foreign field by [H. E. Fox, ed.]
Publication Date: 1897
Call Number: BV3700 .M57
Library North 5
**Note: Does not circulate. Library use only.
Letters from East Africa, 1895-1897 by Gertrude Ward
Publication Date: 1899
Call Number: BV3625.T42 W37
Library North 5

Searching Tips

To find primary (and also secondary) sources in GIL or GIL-Find on missionaries, try subject searches using these terms:

Missionaries Biography
Missionaries Africa
Missionaries XXXXX Correspondence (fill in name of country or region for XXXXX)
Missionaries Correspondence
African American Missionaries
Women Missionaries
Missions

Digital Collections at GSU

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (1543-1945)
Books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. International in scope. Material in English, French, German and several other languages. Try searching for "missionary," "missionaries," "mission," or "missions" for results.

Atla Religion Database (Atla) This link opens in a new window
Use Advanced Search to limit years of publication: 1870-1930 will turn up historical religious journals. Try searching for term "missionary," "missionar*," or "mission*"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR also includes several historical religious journals.

Other Digital Collections

International Mission Photography Archive
Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. Photographs range from mid-19th to mid-20th century and document missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
Contains several collections of mission-related materials, including a collection of missionary postcards held at Yale University Divinity School.

Subject Guide

Leslie Madden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2807

Subjects: English, World Languages & Cultures

HIST 4820: Cross-Cultural Encounters in World History | Primary Sources: Missionary Materials