Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

HIST 7045/7050: Introduction to Graduate Studies and Pedagogy in History: Reference

Reference Materials

Condense information into a general overview.

May be written by scholars in the field.

Provide details about key people & events - use this info to refine your searches.

Contain suggestions for further reading.

Find More

Find reference materials for your project. In GIL keyword search, combine keywords for your topic with one of the following:

the term(s) encyclopedias, bibliography AND/OR dictionaries in the subject
the term(s) guide, directory or bibliography in the title

Selected Online Reference Sources

History Reference Source
Formery History Reference Center. Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century. Featuring the full text from leading history periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating subjects between the social sciences and the humanities.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online
Online version of the Dictionary of National Biography. More than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.

Dictionary of African Biography
Covers all of Africa from ancient to modern history.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century

Selected Reference Titles

Berkshire encyclopedia of world history
Call Number: D23 .B45 2005
Location: Library North 2 | Reference
American national biography
Call Number: CT213 .A68 1999
Location: Library North 2 | Reference
Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopedia by Rodriguez, Junius P.
Call number: Ref. E441 .S635 2007 vol.1-2
Library North 2 | Reference
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a political, social, and military history
Call Number: E468 .E53 2000
Location: Library North 2 | Reference
Encyclopedia of U.S. labor and working-class history
Call Number: HD8066 .A78 2007
Location: Library North 2 | Reference
Collins atlas of World War II
Call Number: G1038 .C65 2006
Location: Library North 2 | Reference
Historical dictionary of the Arab-Israeli conflict
Call Number: DS119.7 .K85 2006
Location: Library North 5

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2854

Subjects: History, Honors College, Urban Studies