Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The GSU Library buildings has reopened as of August 24.
**You MUST have your PantherCard to enter the Library buildings.**
The Library North entrance/exit is currently closed due to construction. Please use the Library South entrance/exit.
Access to books, A/V resources, and GIL Express/ILL materials is available through Express Pickup.
Click here for information on Express Pickup. This service is available to all GSU faculty/staff/students.
Special Collections & Archives is open as of August 24 to researchers by appointment only;
please contact them at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan for books are both available as of August 24.
Saxby's Coffee is closed for the Fall 2020 semester.
All of our electronic resources remain open!
- For a list of our online databases, see the Databases by Name list on the library's homepage.
- You can also sort our databases by subject area using the Databases by Subject dropdown on the library's home page.
- You can search for electronic books in the library's catalog. The Books tab on this guide has information on how to search for ebooks, and on other electronic-book collections being made available.
- You can place Interlibrary Loan requests for articles and for book chapters/sections ONLY (which can be requested and delivered electronically). Expect a lag on these requests, and be aware that we may not be able to fulfill book chapter/section requests due to other libraries not being able to provide access to print books. This includes articles and chapters held in GSU's print collections.
- You can view films through our three streaming services: Kanopy, Films on Demand, and SWANK. (Sadly, the library is not able to provide access to commercial streaming sites like Netflix, Hulu, etc.)
And you can still get help!
- You're here! Check out the resources on this research guide.
- Reference will be done virtually. The red "Chat With Us" button on the right-hand side of this page will take you to our chat reference service, staffed by reference librarians from
- 9am - 9pm Monday-Thursday
- 9am - 5pm Fridays
- 2-6pm Sundays (beginning August 30)
- We have an extensive list of library FAQs which is available for research assistance 24/7. FAQs related to using the library during social distancing are collected here.
- You can contact me directly via email -- cilck the Email link in the box with my photo in it or email me directly at email@example.com. As always, email is the best way to start with me, but we can also make an appointment to meet via WebEx (rather than in person as previously)
- I will not be available for in-person instruction or consultations until further notice, but beginning August 24, I will be holding online drop-in office hours in my WebEx room on Tuesdays from 2pm - 4pm.
How Do I Find Secondary Sources for My Topic?
Use keyword searching in the GSU library catalog (called GILFind) (for books) and in relevant databases (for articles). Brainstorm different keywords for your topic and see what happens.
Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or narrow your searches. (What's Boolean searching again? Learn more here.)
When you find a relevant item, click on the record and look for subject terms. Clicking on a subject term will bring up other related items.
Try your keywords and subject terms in other databases, and see what you find!
* * * * *
Looking for books?
This guide focuses on finding articles. For more information on searching for books (especially complicated during the coronavirus emergency!) please consult the Books tab on the general Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies guide. I can also help you with book searching!
How Do I Find Women's Studies Journals?
For useful lists of Women's Studies journals, use these links:
Click on "Advanced Search" and then on "Feminist & Women's Studies Journals" to get a list of the Women's Studies journals indexed in JSTOR.
Key Women's Studies Databases Available @ GSU
Click here for a full list of the secondary- and primary-source databases held by the GSU Library.
Database of publications that focus on how gender impacts perspectives on women's studies, men's studies, the transgendered community, and historical changes in gender roles.
Contains full text content for LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, monographs, and books. It includes relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies, an LGBT thesaurus, author supplied abstracts and keywords, and searchable cited references.
Formerly: LGBT Life with Full Text
Provides indexing and abstracting of international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and feminist research.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases available @ GSU
Women's Studies is interdisciplinary!
These databases are broad, interdisciplinary article databases.
Don't forget to check related research guides to find additional databases for your topic. To see all of our databases, use our A-Z list.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
Dissertations & Theses A&I
Information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Full text of selected scholarly journals. Begins with first year of publication. Most recent 3-5 years are not included.
Current full text issues of selected scholarly journals.
Interdisciplinary database - includes journals, magazines and newspapers.
Web of Science
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index; covers over 8000 journals; 1992 - present
Other Subject Article Databases Available @ GSU
These databases focus on specific social-science disciplines. To search more broadly, try the databases in the "General Articles Databases" box.
You can also use the dropdown "Find by Subject" box in the Articles / Databases tab to identify relevant databases by subject.
Subject-specific research guides can also help you find more databases for your topic.
America: History & Life
This index covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Direct Opt Out Link
A comprehensive database of citations to articles, reports, and book chapters in all fields of anthropology. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Direct Opt Out Link
Art & Architecture Complete
Designed for art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and researchers. Provides full text coverage for periodicals and books and indexing and abstracting for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and books.
Direct Opt Out Link
Atla Religion Database (Atla)
Coverage begins in 1908 for full text articles and reviews from major religion and theology journals.
Direct Opt Out Link
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Searches journals in the areas of communication, media, and journalism, and is best used for research in media content and scholarship related to the analysis of journalism and mass media.
Direct Opt Out Link
A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education providing access to educational-related literature to facilitate the use of educational research and information to improve practice. Access to ERIC is provided by EBSCO.
Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic and full-text database covering film and television research, covering books, journals, movie reviews, and images.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
MLA International Bibliography
Major database for literature and languages.
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology. Includes information on related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Direct Opt Out Link
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, community development, and more.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers indexing and abstracting of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965, covering theory, practice, areas of service, and subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, and civil and legal rights.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides abstracting and indexing of international relations and political science literature, covering articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Subject coverage includes international law, public administration/policy, comparative politics, developing nations, electoral systems, and history and theory of political science.
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Librarian
Using Find It @GSU
Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.
This button is often a shortcut to the full article text in another database:
Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.
If the GSU Library does not have access to an electronic copy of the article, we may have a copy in print.
If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use the "Journals" tab.
If the GSU Library does not have a print or electronic version of the article, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.
Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help, or contact your History Librarian!
For Graduate Students and Faculty: Desktop Delivery
If you find a journal article or book chapter that is available at the GSU Library in print only, you have two options:
- You can come to the GSU Library and make a xerox copy or scan the article/chapter (**Currently this is not an option due to coronavirus.**)
- Graduate students (and faculty) can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request for the article/chapter, and it will be made available to you as a PDF, through the ILL system.
To fill out an Interlibrary Loan request, start here.
This offer applies only to journal articles and book chapters and not to whole books.
For more information about Desktop Delivery, click here.
Library of Congress Classification Outline
The Library of Congress Classification Outline gives an overview of what the different letters and letter combinations used in call numbers mean!
- Click on an individual letter to get the subcategories (i.e. H breaks down into subcategories like HB, HD, HQ, and so on).
- Click on a subcategory to get a more detailed outline of the subjects included in each subcategory (that's what the numbers following the letters mean!)
Most academic libraries (i.e. colleges and universities) use the Library of Congress Classification Outline, so once you've begun to recognize which letter/number combinations seem relevant to you, you can use that combination at any other college/university library.
I mentioned this book in class -- it's a study of how the Library of Congress has classified homosexuality and related terms. Very interesting study on how subject terms evolve:
Cruising the Library by
Publication Date: 2017
Call Number: Atlanta Library North 3 Z695 .A25 2017
(Z = Library Science! and Z 695 falls into the number range for books on library cataloging!)