Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Source: Kaiser Family Foundation (http://kff.org) analysis.
Original data and detailed source information are available at http://kff.org/jama_062514.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) Statistical Briefs
The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest all-payer encounter-level collection of longitudinal health care data (inpatient, ambulatory surgery, and emergency department) in the United States, beginning in 1988.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
MEPS is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS data cover health care use and spending, insurance coverage, and accessibility of care. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
National Health Care Surveys
Addresses and monitors health care resources, the quality of health care, and disparities in health care services in the United States. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Center for Health Statistics.
National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports (NHQRDR)
NHQRDRnet is an online query system that allows you to access national and State data on the quality of, and access to, health care from scientifically credible measures and data sources.
Nationwide Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project Databases
From the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The HCUP family of administrative longitudinal databases contains discharge-level information on inpatient care in U.S. hospitals or ambulatory surgery encounters.
Medicaid Benefits: Online Database
This site contains Medicaid Benefits survey data from 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2008 with information about benefits covered, limits, co-payments and reimbursement methodologies. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Medicare Chart Book, 2010
This resource features more than 80 charts and tables with detailed information about the Medicare program. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
From the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
State Health Facts - Medicaid and CHIP
Provides information about the states health coverage programs for the low-income, including Medicaid and the State Children''s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Includes topics such as enrollment, eligibility requirements, managed care participation, spending and federal matching amounts, and enrollment practices. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
State Health Facts - Medicare
Includes information about states' aged and disabled Medicare beneficiaries, such as enrollment, demographics, spending, other sources of health coverage, managed care participation, and use of services. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Healthcare Insurance and Coverage