Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

History: General

Reference Materials

Condense information into a general overview.

May be written by scholars in the field.

Provide details about key people & events - use this info to refine your searches.

Contain suggestions for further reading.

Selected Online Reference Sources

History Reference Source
General history reference database.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Online bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online
Illustrated collection of more than 57,000 biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.

Selected Reference Titles

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin, ed.
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Click here to access.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
Call Number: Ref. D23 .B45 2005

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
American National Biography
Call Number: Ref. CT213 .A68 1999

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia by Rodriguez, Junius P.
Call Number: Ref. E441 .S635 2007 vol.1-2

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Call Number: Ref. E468 .E53 2000

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-class History
Call Number: Ref. HD8066 .A78 2007

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
Collins Atlas of World War II
Call Number: Ref. G1038 .C65 2006

Library North 2 | Reference (Non-Circulating)
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
Call Number: DS119.7 .K85 2015

Library North 5

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2025 8:40 AM
URL: https://research.library.gsu.edu/historygeneral
Print Page

Subjects: History

Tags: history