Poetry Research: Poetry Research

Search Google Books for recent books written by your favorite poet.

The pdf file given below lists reference books, databases, and internet sites useful for poetry research.

Use the "Catalog" tab to find books in our library using GIL-Find. The catalog also lists other materials in the library - including microfilm, dissertations, movies, music and special collections.

A Keyword search in GIL-Find is a good place to start if you are looking for information on a topic. If you have more specific information, you can also search by title, subject or author using the Advanced Search options.

** If you are looking for a specific book or journal for which you have the title/author, you might want to search in our GIL Classic catalog. **

** If GSU does not have the item you are looking for, try searching the GIL Universal Catalog and requesting the item from another USG library via GIL Express. **

Some links are to the library catalog, GIL-Find, while others go to the database. To access the electronic title through GIL-Find, click on Online access. Off campus access is with your campus id and password.

To find periodical articles on a poem or poet, try the databases listed below:

• MLA International Bibliography and Academic Search Complete- These EBSCOhost databases index academic journals and other resources. Find the full text of journal articles by using the FindIt@GSU link.
• Humanities International Index- Find orginal poetry published in literary magazines and critical articles.
• JSTOR- Find the full text of many literary criticism scholarly journals. This is an archival database, so you won't find current issues of journals.
• Project Muse- Find the full text of many literary criticism scholarly journals.
• Films on Demand- Find films about poetry and poetry readings.
• Literary Reference Center- Find information on a poet and links to literary criticism.

Sign up to have a poem sent to your email each day.

Find poems by category or poet.

Try internet sites for online poetry readings.