Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quality demographic information is important when developing business and marketing plans. There are a wide variety of resources available, including library subscriptions, print resources and websites that may help find the demographic information you need. The resources below will help you assess your market by allowing you to map democratic and economic data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
As of April 22, 2019, OUP is no longer the distribution partner for Social Explorer. This database provides access to current and historical census data (back to 1790), demographic information, and interactive demographic maps that can be queried and manipulated; users can also create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Note: Create a personal account to save projects.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics contains over 75,000 data variables covering demographic, historical census data from 1980, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, consumer behavior, health data and over 23 million businesses from D&B. The database also includes value-added health care survey data (public health), and marketing data from Simmons Research with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as Claritas PRIZM consumer lifestyle segmentation including attitude and behavior data.. Note: Patrons are not required to create an account but can "Sign in as a guest" (in the Sign In box, under the "Create an Account" button). Your work will not be saved if you sign in as a guest.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
These resources will help you find information about broad demographic groups and categories: more specialized information may be located, but often will require looking into local resources such as Chambers of Commerce, city governments or neighborhood associations. For example, the City of Decatur has basic city demographic information available in the business section of the city website.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Direct Opt Out Link
ABI/Inform is one of the key business databases. For company research, this is an excellent resource for trade publications, newspaper and magazine articles.
Interested in consumer psychology or buyer behavior? PsycInfo is an excellent resource for locating studies that have been done about what and why customers may do what they do.