Risk Management & Insurance: Internet Sources

Highlights news in the risk retention and liability market. Also, provides some statistics on the growth and distribution of the industry.

Addresses issues related to annuities, disability income, life insurance, long-term care insurance, and retirement plans. Access state-level industry fact sheets and annual industry fact book from the ACLI website.

Provides a brief overview of industry issues related to property - casualty insurance. Other research related items are restricted to members.

AIR specializes in modelling man made catastrope risks and natural risk related to weather and climate. Frequently quoted in insurance and news articles. Also provides access to some of its data on its web site.

Provides solutions to assess and manage risks associated with natural and man made events. Press releases frequently contain estimates of damage occurred in recent events.

This risk and reinsurance advisory company provides modelling services through its Instrat unit and publishes bulletins, reports, and briefings on pertinant issues in risk and reinsurance. Research reports are available on the company website under "Our Insights" and press releases available on the site may provide brief statistical data on current events.

Provides online full-text access to research on insurance issues. Click on the link to research to search the reports archive.

Provides access to reports and news articles on inland marine insurance. Only members can see the full text. Non-members may purchase individual copies of reports.

Access industry financials, research studies, presentations, and facts and statistics that impact the insurance industry.

Purchase risk and insurane industry research studies. Reports cover issues such as uninsured motorists, auto injury claims, home owner loss patterns, and coastal exposure.

Provides a number of products to insurance companies, government agencies, and risk managers. Products include guidelines for reporting insurance data to risk modelling programs and statitical analysis. Press releases on the ISO website provide insight to current risk and insurance issues and a yearly financial overview of the insurance market is available.

Provides access to reports and articles on legal issues facing the insurance industry, including an annual review of political issues and a review of state insurance laws.

A clearinghouse of information on natural hazards. Access working papers, newsletters, and other publications on disaster management and the impact of natural disasters.

Access industry issues overviews in the form of consumer advice, white papers and talking points. Importan public policy developments are highlighted.

Includes access to a data center that provides online access to data on company market share, reinsurance underwriting, profitability measures, lines of business, leverage and liquidity, loss reserve development and balance sheet analysis.

The riskwire feature highlights and organizes by catagory significant articles on risk issues published in national newspapers and industry magazines. Also, has a section with downloadable papers on Enterprise Risk Management. Survey reports on compensation and industry benchmarks may be purchased from this site.

RMS is known for its expertise in catastrophe risk. In addition to examining weather derivatives, RMS estimates damages from man made disaters, such as the impact of weapons of mass destruction, and provides solutions for enterprise risk. Frequently research from RMS is quoted in new articles and this site posts information about current issues of interest on its website.

In addition to offering reinsurance products and services, Swiss Re provides analysis and research on a number of insurance related areas. Look under the link to Research and Publications for access to research published by Swiss Re.