Skip to main content

New Religious Movements: Subject Guide: Find Books

Search tips and research resources for topics in new religious movements.

Search the GSU Library Catalog

Search the GSU Library GIL-Find Catalog
Note: Using this feature will take you away from this subject guide.

Search Tips:
  • Use quotes to search for phrases:
    • "divine law"
  • Adding an asterisk  * to the stem of a word will search for various word endings.
    • myst* will return mystic, mysticsmystical, and mysticism
  • Use AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Note: AND and OR must be ALL caps:
    • faith AND belief - to retrieve results that includes all of your search terms (retrieves fewer results)
    • faith OR belief - to retrieve results that contain any of your search terms (retrieves more results)

Not Finding an Ebook Version?

If you're not finding an ebook using one of the above sources, you still have some options:

  • Contact your Subject Librarian to see if it's possible to order an ebook. (Find your Subject Librarian by locating your school/department here).
  • Check the book's publisher's website to see if they are making their books available online as an emergency measure. (For example, Johns Hopkins University Press is temporarily making its books available as ebooks through the Project Muse database, which GSU affiliates can access).
  • If you know that you only need a section of a book, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request for that section. You will need full citation information for the book and the page range that you are requesting. (Don't know the page information? Check Google Books to see if you can see the book's table of contents. Amazon might also provide this information).

Catalog Relationships

catalog relationships

GIL: Searches only items in the GSU Library

GIL Universal Catalog: Searches the contents of 35 academic libraries in Georgia

WorldCat: Searches 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Finding Electronic Books in the Era of COVID-19

Currently, we are only able to provide access to our print books via curbside pickup.
Click here for information about arranging for a pickup.

We are also unable to request print books from USG libraries (via GIL Express)
or from other libraries (via Interlibrary Loan)

Here are some strategies that you can use to find and access ebooks.

Please feel free to ask me if you have any questions about finding electronic versions of texts!

Help! I've found an ebook in the library's catalog and I'm not sure how to download it!

Different providers (i.e. ProQuest, EBSCO, etc.) have different requirements. Check out our Ebooks research guide for information about how to read/download ebooks.

What if I just need a chapter or essay from a particular book?

If the book is available as an ebook, you may have the option of printing just that chapter or section.

If the book is only available to you as a print book, you can use our Desktop Delivery service to have the chapter/section scanned and emailed to you through our Interlibrary Loan service. Click here for more information about how to get started.

***If a print book that we hold is available to you through the HathiTrust Emergency Access program, you will see an "Online access" link indicating this availability in the book's GILFind record.***

***IMPORTANT!!! As of AUGUST 24, 2020, we will no longer be eligible for the HathiTrust Emergency Access program.***

How to Find ebooks in GILFind

You can search for eBooks from all GSU library ebook databases in the GSU Library's GilFind catalog just as you would search for traditional print books. After you search, tweak your results to show only "full access online" and the "books" format to see only eBooks.

(Are you teaching? See a full description for embedding ebooks for course content).

In a Pinch... Book Reviews

In a pinch, you can also search in our databases for book reviews to get a general sense of the book's argument, even if you can't access the book itself.

  • Our Book Reviews research guide gives information about general book reviews
  • See below for instructions on finding book reviews in specific databases relevant to Religious Studies

Finding Book Reviews

Most of the library's article databases allow you to search for book reviews. Here are instructions on how to find book reviews in the most used databases appropriate for research in religious studies:

  • ATLA Religion Database
    • Created by the American Theological Library Association
    • The main source for bibliographical citations of book reviews in religion (more than 400,000)
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Review" from "Document Type" pull down menu near the bottom of the page and click Search.
       
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Book Review" from the "Document Type" pull down menu near the bottom of the page and click Search.
    • This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Academic Search Complete
    • Academic Search Complete is a large, multidisciplinary database that abstracts and indexes over 9,000 journals and includes the full text of 5,500 journals. More than 4,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed. One of the publications available in this database is Reviews in Religion and Theology.
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Book Review" from the list of "Document Types" near the bottom of the page and click Search.
       
  • JSTOR
    • JSTOR is an interdiscplinary digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then, type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box and click on "Reviews" from the "Narrow By" list of options.

In databases that do not have a "Book Review" limiting option, you can simply type the words "book review" (in quotes) into one of the Advanced Search option search boxes and then either the title of a specific book or a topic.