Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy: Subject Guide: Database Alerts and Journal TOCs

Research resources for physical therapy.

Create Alerts for New Items

EBSCOhost Logo

EBSCOhost Databases           

Examples:

Academic Search Complete

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

LGBT Life with Full Text

  1. After selecting an EBSCOhost database from the GSU Library's subscriptions, log in with your GSU ID as prompted.
  2. Choose any additional EBSCOhost databases you want to search using the link above the search box. Then type your search terms into the box, and click the Search button.
  3. On your Results screen, click the Share button at top right of results list. See the option for Create An Alert, and select either E-mail Alert or RSS Feed).
  4. Set your preferences for frequency of receiving alerts, etc. (click Advanced Settings for more options if desired), then click Save Alert button.


For more information, see EBSCO Help's Creating a Search Alert tutorial.

ProQuest logo

ProQuest Databases

Examples:

ProQuest Central

Sociological Abstracts

ABI/INFORM Collection

  1. After selecting a ProQuest database from the GSU Library's subscriptions, log in with your GSU ID as prompted.
  2. Type your search terms into the box, and click the Search button. (To search additional ProQuest databases, see the Advanced Search screen.)
  3. On your Results screen, click the Save Search/Alert option at the top-right of results list. Select Create Alert or Create RSS Feed.
  4. Set your preferences for frequency of receiving alerts, etc. Then click Create Alert/Feed button.

 

For more information, see ProQuest Support Center's Create a Search Alert instructions.

PubMed logo

 

  1. Search for your key terms in the PubMed search box. (See Advanced Search for additional options.)
  2. On your results page, select the Create Alert button underneath the search box.
  3. Follow instructions to either log in with your existing account or create a new free NCBI account.
  4. Once logged in, you'll continue to the My NCBI tool where you can save and set schedules for your alerts. 

 

For more information, see PubMed's How Can I Get an Alert? instructions.

Web of Science logo

  1. Register for your free Web of Science account, or log in, at the top-right of the page.
  2. Search for your key terms in the Web of Science search box. (See Advanced Search for additional options.)
  3. On your results page, click the blue Create An Alert button on the left side of the page to set up emails for future search results.
  4. Additionally, see Searches and Alerts at the top of the page for alerts on future uses of a specific citation, or on future contents of a specific journal.

Google Scholar logo

 

  1. In Google Scholar, create or sign in to your free Google account in the top-right corner of the page.
  2. Search for your key terms in the search box. (See Advanced Search for additional options.)
  3. On your results page, select the Create Alert button on the left side of the page.

JournalTOCs

JournalTOCs logo

JournalTOCs is a free service that makes it easy to find, display and store Tables of Contents from scholarly journals in all disciplines from over a thousand publishers. You can also import them into your Google Feed Reader or Microsoft Outlook RSS Feed Reader.

1. In the search box on the JournalTOCs home page, search for your journal title.

2. From the results that appear underneath the search box, select your journal title.

3. From there, you can choose how you want to follow or subscribe to the journal's information:

  • Follow the journal information on the JournalTOCs site with your free JournalTOCs account (using the Follow check box)
  • Send to your favorite feed reader with the orange RSS button
  • Export the journal information to Zotero

JournalTOCs result