GSU Library Research Guides: Middle East Studies: Subject Guide: Encyclopedias & More

REFERENCE SOURCES

Use Reference Sources, such as encyclopedias, to get a general overview of your topic. They are not intended to be read cover-to-cover, but rather provide you with more concise information as you begin to explore a topic. Reference sources generally provide several things:

Background information about a topic.
Brief, factual overviews of topics.
Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic.
Articles written by authors with exertise in the subject matter.
Bibliographies of sources for further reading.

FEATURED ATLASES

Here is a sampling of GSU library atlases useful for Middle East Studies research.

Atlas of the Middle East by National Geographic Society
Call Number: G2205 .N38 2008 (Atlanta campus)
G2205 .N34 2008 (Clarkston, Dunwoody)
"A variety of themes are presented, from religion, population, and ethnic and linguistic groups to oil, fresh water, and development indicators such as trade, foreign aid, infant mortality, urbanization, and education." (Description from Amazon.com.)
The State of the Middle East: An Atlas of Conflict and Resolution by Dan Smith
Call Number: G2205 .S6 2008
Location: Library North 5 (Atlanta campus)
"The atlas covers a wide range of topics, including: imperial legacies; ethnic and religious differences; US presence and policies; Arab-Israeli wars; Israel and Palestine; Iran and Iraq; military spending; the Kurds; Libya and the USA; and, oil and water." (Description from Amazon.com.)
Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by Martin Gilbert
Call Number: G2236.S1 G55 2008
Location: Library North 5 (Atlanta campus)
Traces the history of the Arab-Jewish struggle from the early 20th century to the present. It also illustrates the move towards finding peace and the efforts to bring the the fighting to an end through negotiation and proposals for agreed boundaries. (Description from Amazon.com.)

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

GENERAL PRINT ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Continuum Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East by Avraham Sela, Ed.
Call Number: Ref. DS62.8 .P64 2002
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating) (Atlanta campus)
Publication Date: 2002
"Contains entries on countries ranging from Afghanistan to Yemen; political movements and leaders; major foreign nations that impact this area, such as the United States and Russia; religions and religious movements; and regional topics of concern."
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians by Phillip Mattar
Call Number: Ref. DS113.6 .E53 2005
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating) (Atlanta campus); also available at Clarkston campus.
Publication Date: 2005
Provides an account of the Palestinian people and their long history.
The Essential Middle East: A Comprehensive Guide by Dilip Hiro
Call Number: DS43 .H57 2003
Location: Library North 5 (Atlanta campus)
"Includes: Arab-Israeli Wars, Biographies, Christianity and Christian Sects, Civil Wars, Country Profiles, Ethnic Groups, Government, Gulf Wars, Historical Places, History, Hostages, International Agreements and Treaties, Islam and Islamic Sects, Judaism and Jewish Sects, Languages, Literary Personalities, Military and Military Leaders, Nonconventional and Nuclear Weapons, Oil and Gas, Peace Process, Politics, Regional Conflicts, Religion, Terrorism, Tourist Destinations, United Nations, and more." (Description from Amazon.com.)

ARAB-ISRAELI CONFLICT RESOLUTION REFERENCE SOURCES

Here are some reference sources on the Arab-Israeli Conflict.

Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History by Spencer Tucker & Priscilla Mary Roberts, Eds.
Call Number: Ref. DS119.7 .E5653 2008
Location: Library North 2, Reference section (Non-Circulating) (Atlanta campus). Also available at Clarkston and Dunwoody.
In 4 volumes: "This title features: 770 alphabetically organized entries covering everything from important people, places, and events to a wide range of social and cultural topics - each entry featuring cross references and suggestions for further reading; a separate documents volume offering an unprecedented collection of over 180 essential primary sources; over 500 images, including maps, photographs, and illustrations." (Description from Amazon.com.)
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by P. R. Kumaraswamy
Call Number: Ref. DS119.7 .H544 1996
Location: Library North 5 (Atlanta campus). Also available at Clarkston and Dunwoody.
Publication Date: 2006
"The Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict provides factual background information on the historical, religious, cultural, and archaeological issues that this rivalry over territory has sparked through a list of acronyms and abbreviations; an introductory essay; a chronology; a bibliography; and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant people, places, and events, including various wars and negotiations. This book offers essential details using neutral terms, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions."--Jacket.
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: Culture, History, and Politics by Claude Faure
Call Number: Ref. JQ1830.A58 F3813 2005
Location: Clarkston 3rd Floor
Publication Date: 2005
Presents 1,500 alphabetized, cross-referenced articles on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, covering its history, causes, major figures, and other aspects, and includes time lines, a glossary, and a bibliography.

other reference sources

Middle East and Central Asia Databook by Edwards Economic Research Inc.
Call Number: Ref. HA4556 .M53 2004
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating) (Atlanta campus)
Publication Date: 2004
Provides statistics and reports on the countries and political bodies of the Middle East and Central Asia.
A Political Chronology of the Middle East by Europa
Call Number: Ref. DS63.18 .P65 2001
Location: Library North 2, Reference collection (Non-Circulating) (Atlanta campus)
Publication Date: 2001
"Provides an impartial record of the political, social, cultural, geographical, and economic events that have helped to shape world history. Each of the regional titles records the major events that have shaped each country and region, with greater emphasis given to more recent affairs." (Description from Amazon.com)
The New A-Z of the Middle East by Alain Gresh and Dominique Vidal
Call Number: DS43 .G742 2004
Location: Library North 5 (Atlanta campus)
Publication Date: 2004