Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4690/CRN 55540/PERS 2001: Pandemics, Plagues, and Peoples (Fromherz/Summer 2021): Articles

Key Article Databases for History @ GSU

Keywords and Subject Terms

When searching databases, try subject terms as keywords.

Examples might be:

  • Examples might be:

  • Pandemic
  • Plague
  • Epidemic
  • Infectious Disease
  • Quarantine
  • Black Death or Bubonic Plague
  • Influenza and other diseases
  • If you have identified particular individuals' or organizations'  names, those can also be useful search terms.
  • You can also try searching by names of events

And so on...

Important!!!

Databases may not use the same subject terms as the library catalog. It's always wise to look at any subject terms that come up in an article's record to see what "official" terms are being used and to get more ideas of useful search terms. 

Many databases also have a link to a "Thesaurus," which you can use to find out that databases' subject terms. Click "Thesaurus," type in your search term, and the thesaurus will direct you to terms which that database uses for that term.

Using Find It @GSU

Many databases give you only a citation telling you where to find the article, not the article itself.

This button is often a shortcut to the full article text in another database:

Click the Find It @GSU button to open a window with links to the article you need.

If that fails, try searching for the journal title in GIL-Find, or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from another library.

Lost? Stuck? Too many options? Ask a Librarian for help, or contact your History Librarian!

Finding Articles

Use keyword searching in relevant databases. Brainstorm different keywords for your topic and see what happens.

Use Boolean searching (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or narrow your searches. 

Use the drop-down boxes in the database's Advanced Search to help you narrow or expand your search.

When you find a relevant item, click on the record and look for subject terms. Clicking on a subject term will bring up other related items.

Try your keywords and subject terms in other databases, and see what you find!