Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GSU Special Collection & Archives Reference Videos: Home

Meet the Archivists

MORNA GERRARD: WOMEN'S / GENDER AND SEXUALITY COLLECTIONS
mgerrard@gsu.edu

Morna Gerrard is the archivist for the Women's / Gender and Sexuality Collections. She acquires materials appropriate for inclusion in the collections, makes them available for research, and provides outreach to university, scholarly, and local communities.

LISA VALLEN: SOUTHERN LABOR ARCHIVES
evallen@gsu.edu

As the Southern Labor Archivist, Lisa is responsible for the acquisition, description, preservation and providing access to all of the materials located in the Southern Labor Archives. She is also the instruction coordinator for Special Collections & Archives.

KATHERINE FISHER: SOCIAL CHANGE COLLECTIONS
kfisher1@gsu.edu

Katherine Fisher is responsible for donor relations, collecting, arranging, describing, and providing access to the Social Change collection.

KEVIN FLEMING: POPULAR MUSIC AND CULTURE COLLECTIONS
kfleming@gsu.edu

As the Popular Music and Culture Archivist, Kevin Fleming oversees collections pertaining to songwriter Johnny Mercer, early country music, radio broadcasting, and popular culture. He also serves as the Media Preservation Coordinator for the Special Collections and Archives.

GSU Special Collection & Archives Reference Videos

Using Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880

Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory

Useful Tools

Search Engines
Google

WorldCat
Bibliographic information on collections of libraries from around the world. Note: the holdings of most Georgia libraries do not appear in WorldCat.

Archive Grid
Provides access to records describing archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories, and primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.


Research Guides
Archival Research

Provides an introduction to key terms and tools for conducting archival research

Gender and Sexuality Collections Subject Guide
Provides information about materials in the Gender and Sexuality Collections

Women's Collections Subject Guide


Finding Aids
Archives Space

Finding aids act as inventories that describe and list the contents of collections and contain information about the person, family, or organization that created the collection.


Digital Collections
Digital Collections

Search or browse collections from Georgia State University's Special Collections and Archives that have been digitized. You will find links to other digital collections ton each page of this Research Guide.