Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History H4990: Race and Masculinity Online Resources: LGBTQ+

LGBTQ+: Digitized Manuscript Collections

7 Stages Theatre (Atlanta, GA) Records, 1960-2014 (M219)
The 7 Stages Theatre (Atlanta, Ga.) records are comprised of press materials, financial records, scripts, marketing materials, programs, actor contracts, and Board of Directors materials documenting the history of the theatre company from its creation in 1979 to 2014 (Bulk 1979-2010).

Finding Aid
Digital Collection (partially digitized)


Franklin Abbott Papers, 1907-1910; 1933; 1942; 1950-2014 (Q108)
Franklin Abbott, who has practiced psychotherapy in Atlanta since 1979, is a writer, poet, artist, and gay activist. His papers include correspondence, writings and poetry, printed material, photographs, audio-visual recordings, and sound recordings that relate to Abbott's friendships and family, his creative works and his relationships with other artists, his exploration of spirituality, leadership in the Atlanta gay community, work as a psychotherapist, and activism.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection (partially digitized)


Atlanta Journal Constitution Photographs
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photograph Collection contains over five million images from the newspaper's photo morgue. The bulk of these images come from the 1950s-1980s, but the collection also includes images that appeared in the Atlanta Journal, the Atlanta Constitution, and many of the smaller newspapers they absorbed over the years. 

Digital Collection


Thomas H. Crim, Jr. Papers, 1984-1993 (Q105)
The Thomas H. Crim, Jr. papers consist of news clippings, correspondence, and photographs, 1984-1993. The majority of the collection consists of editorials, articles, and letters to the editor from the Augusta Chronicle, and documents Crim's opposition to the Chronicle's stance on gay rights, and, to a lesser extent, smokers' rights.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection


Gay Spirit Visions Records, 1978-2019 (Q127)
Gay Spirit Visions organizes gatherings for gay men to explore their spirituality and identity in a safe, nurturing, and sacred environment. The records mostly detail the planning, financing, and recording of retreats, and include correspondence, financial records, flyers, invitations, programs, audiovisual materials, and photographs dating from 1978-2010.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection (partially digitized)
 

LGBTQ  Digital Collection
The LGBTQ Digital Collection is comprised of miscellaneous materials documenting the Georgia LGBTQ community. Materials in this collection represent a wide-ranging assortment of topics and events. LGBTQ materials can also be found in a variety of other including collections, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographs Collection, the Archives for Research on Women and Gender, and the Franklin Abbott Papers.

Digital Collection
 

LGBTQ Institute's Mike Maloney Collection of OutTV Atlanta Video Recordings
OutTV Atlanta, a half-hour weekly news and entertainment show focused on LGBTQ life, ran from 1999-2001. The brainchild of Michael B. Maloney, the show was supported financially by Maloney’s family and friends. Maloney used his funds to purchase air time, and OutTV aired in Atlanta and Savannah. As producer of the show, Maloney saw that most of the coverage of LGBTQ life involved night clubs and drag queens, and he wanted to focus on “ordinary” gay people who were fire fighters, attorneys, and regular members of the community. This digital collection contains about 230 digitized tapes of raw footage created in the process of making the show.

Digital Collection


LGBTQ T-Shirt Collection
The LGBTQ T-shirts Collection consists of t-shirts and other textiles documenting the history, culture, and activism of the LGBTQ community in Georgia and the broader United States. Items presented here come from many collections, including: M. Charlene Ball papersLorraine Fontana papersAtlanta Feminist Women's Chorus recordsMaria Helena Dolan papersRichard Rhodes papersAndrew P. Wood papersJoining Hearts, Inc. records, Jim Allen papers, and others.

Digital Collection


Terri Wilder Papers, circa 1996-2007 (Q085)
The Terri Wilder Papers, circa 1996-2007, focus on Wilder's efforts as an advocate for people living with HIV/AIDS. The printed materials are arranged alphabetically and consist primarily of educational literature produced by organizations with which Wilder has worked. Organizations include: ACT-UP, the Global Campaign for Microbicides, and the Hope Clinic at Emory University. The papers include: fliers, pamphlets, reports, artifacts and one DVD.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection


Andrew Wood Papers, 1987-2014 (bulk 1988-2014) (Q121)
Andrew Wood is a graphic designer and gay activist. His papers consist of flyers, newspaper clippings, correspondence, t-shirts, bumper stickers, as well as extensive materials relating to the Atlanta chapter of ACT-UP.

Finding Aid
Digital Collection

LGBTQ+: Oral HIstories

The following oral history collections may include interviews that will be useful to you. For each collection, the Research Guide will provide an overview of the project as well as information about each interviewee. It will also link to available digitized content. The Digital Collection provides an overview of the project and includes synchronized transcripts of a limited number of interviews. Some of the interviews are also available via the GSU Library's YouTube channel. If you would like to access an interview that is not currently available in Digital Collections or YouTube, please contact the archivist.

Big Joy Oral History Interviews
The Big Joy oral history interviews were conducted by Stephen Silha, who produced the 2013 documentary, Big Joy. Big Joy celebrated the life and work of poet and film maker James Broughton.

Research Guide
Digital Collection
YouTube Videos


Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project
Established as an all-volunteer group of men in 1989, Gay Spirit Visions is committed to creating safe, sacred space that is open to all spiritual paths, wherein men who love men may explore and strengthen spiritual identity. Every year GSV holds retreats and conferences that are attended by men from all over the United States.The Gay Spirit Visions Oral History Project is a component of the larger Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project.

Research Guide
Digital Collection
YouTube Videos


Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project
The Gender and Sexuality Oral History Project was established in 2011, and forms part of the Gender and Sexuality Collections. It aims to document LGBTQ+ history in Atlanta, Georgia and the South through interviews with activists and leaders in grassroots movements as well as established organizations and public offices.

Research Guide
Digital Collection
YouTube Videos


Touching Up Our Roots Oral History Project
Founded by longtime gay activists Dave Hayward and Berl Boykin, Touching Up Our Roots: Georgia's LGBT History Project preserves, promotes and publicizes the contributions that Georgia's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender people make to expanding civil rights for all people; creating civic and neighborhood organizations, and enhancing local, regional, and national culture.

Research Guide
 

LGBTQ+: Digital Collections in Other Repositories

Atlanta's Unspoken Past Oral History Interviews at the Atlanta History Center
This oral history project focuses on lesbian and gay history and culture in Atlanta prior to the explosion of gay rights movements that occurred in cities across the United States in the early 1970s.

Digital Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Five College Compass - Digital Collections
Compass is a centralized repository and platform for Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges to store, manage and publish digital objects on the Web.

Georgia Voice newspaper
In March 2010, Georgia Voice newspaper was launched by the team behind Southern Voice. Produced on a bi-weekly basis, GA Voice collaborates with the Atlanta Convention and Visitor's Bureau to publish its annual "Destination Gay Atlanta" travel guide.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to digitized American historical materials, and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, film, sound files, and legal materials.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history.

Southern Voice newspaper, 1988-1995 (Digital Library of Georgia)
Launched on March 1, 1988, Southern Voice  provided news to LGBTQ+ communities in Atlanta and the Southeast. It was published bi-weekly until 2009.

The Barb newspaper at the Atlanta History Center
Founded in 1974, Atlanta Barb, the first LGBTQ+ newspaper published in Atlanta.  In 1975, the newspaper changed its name to The Barb, and it was published under that name until 1977.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880

Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Special Collections Employee Directory