Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 6910/8980: Politics of Injury: Trauma Communication (and Law) (Tim Barouch: Summer 2020): Finding Articles

3 Ways to Get to Articles Databases

There are three ways that you can get to the library's databases,
from off-campus (as well as from on-campus):

  1. Use the Databases by Subject dropdown to find databases for a particular subject area
  2. Use the Databases by Name links if you know the name of the database you're looking for (i.e., Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is under "W" for "Worldwide")
  3. Use this research guide (or any of our other research guides!)

If you are off campus, when you click the name of a database, you will be asked for your Campus ID and password. After that, you'll have full access to the database*. But in order to get that access, the database has to identify you as GSU faculty/student/staff.

*There are a very few databases that you can't access this way (looking at you, Ancestry Library Edition) and are only usable in the actual library building). These are clearly marked in the database listings as ON CAMPUS USE ONLY.

Using "Advanced Search" in Databases

Most databases have an Advanced Search option, which will let you search using multiple terms at once. For example:

An asterisk (*) is a truncation symbol that will bring up results using all the letters leading up to (or following) the * -- so, Islam* will bring up both "Islam" and "Islamic" etc.

The search string in the third box got cut off in the image: it should be lgbt or gay or homosexual or lesbian or bisexual or transgender or queer -- the "ors" mean that you're asking for articles that use any of the terms linked by the "ors"

* * * * * 

A database's Advanced Search option will also let you limit your search in a number of ways, including:

  • Limit by year of publication (helpful if you need the most current scholarship/literature)
  • Limit to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles (this is often just a box you can check)
  • Limit by language (if you read a particular language or languages, you can select those; you can also limit your search to just items in English)

For example, here are some options that often appear in Advanced Search:

Different subject databases may have other options as well, but most of our databases have these as Advanced Search options.

* * * * *

One box that you SHOULD NOT CHECK is the "Full Text" box. Sounds backwards, I know, but here's why:

Many databases will give you only the citation for a particular article and not the full text.

But! We have lots of databases, and the article that you need may be in a different database.

If you find an article that you want, and it looks like we don't have full text, click the blue "Find It @ GSU" button. That button will point you to the article if it's held in another database, or will help you set up an Interlibrary Loan for the article. (Yes, you can place requests for articles via Interlibrary Loan during the coronavirus crisis -- article requests are handled electronically).

If you check the "Full Text" box in a database, you're actually saying that you only want articles which that particular database has available in "full text." You're shutting off that "Find It @ GSU" option.

Subject Term Searching

Most databases will assign subject terms (also called descriptors) to individual articles. These will show up as links in an article's database record. Clicking on a subject term link will take you to other articles that also have been assigned that subject term

Some databases will include a Thesaurus link that will help you identify relevant subject terms for your topic. Start by clicking on Thesaurus and then typing in a keyword -- the Thesaurus will then tell you the subject term that database uses for that term, and likely suggest other related terms as well. 

Try using these subject terms (also listed on the Finding Books tab) if they're relevant:

  • Psychic trauma
  • Rape victims
  • Prisoners (note the subcategories under Prisoners -- Abuse of etc.)
  • Stress Disorders, Post-Traumatic
  • Collective memory
  • Mass media and history
  • Torture victims
  • Violence

Different databases use different subject terms -- be flexible and pay attention to the subject terms that show up in a useful article's record!

Search Hints

   to search names as a phrase | ex: "walter cronkite"


   as a wild card | ex: wom*n

AND between words to NARROW results | ex: cat AND dog

OR between words to EXPAND results | ex: cat OR kitten

Interdisciplinary Article Databases available @ GSU

These databases are broadly interdisciplinary.

You can also use our Databases by Subject dropdown menu to search for databases focusing on specific disciplines

To see all of our databases, use our A-Z list.

Getting the full article

1) First, look for a direct link to the article. "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" are the most common forms.
 
2) If you don't see one of these links, look for a  button in the article's record. Clicking this button will check for full text availability in GSU's other databases and also search the library's catalog to see if we have the journal in print or on microfilm. You will see one or more of the following results: 
 
Full text available at: [database name]
Means that electronic full text of the article is available from one or more of GSU Library's full text providers. Check the years available in each option to identify which option will work for you.
 
No full text available
If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print or microfilm copy of the article: scroll down to the "Get It" section to see if there are print or microfilm options for this journal. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.
 
Request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If neither electronic nor print access* is available at GSU Library, you can click this link to begin the interlibrary loan process (sign in with your Campus ID and follow the prompts). This service is free for GSU students/employees. Articles requested via Interlibrary Loan are usually available within 24 hours -- check your gsu.edu email address for notification of availability.
 
*Depending on which borrower group you belong in, you may be able to place an ILL request for GSU materials in print or microfilm. Click here for more information about our Desktop Delivery service.
 
Occasionally, people encounter problems trying to access articles from home using the "Find It @ GSU" button. Sometimes pop-up blockers prevent the "Find It" window from opening, so check your browser settings. 
 
Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

Selected Subject-Specific Databases

These databases are focused on particular subject areas which may be especially relevant for this course.

You can also use our Databases by Subject dropdown menu to search for databases focusing on specific disciplines

To see all of our databases, use our A-Z list.