Teaching with Business Case Studies: Online Resources

Many universities and organizations provide free access to business case studies.  Below are the highlights of the well-known sources:

• Acadia Institute of Case Studies

  The Acadia Institute of Case Studies is a non-profit centre in the School of Business Administration, Acadia University. The Institute's focus is on entrepreneurship and small business operations.
• Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics (Carnegie Mellon)

  From 1987-1994, Arthur Andersen funded a $5 million joint project with 525 universities to raise awareness of business ethics. This collection of 90 case studies is one product of that effort. All participating universities (includes BU) have license to use these materials and reproduce them as needed for instructional purposes.
• Case Centre

  Case Centre offers a wide range of free cases produced by many prominent schools and organizations across the globe. You must be registered and logged into the website to access free cases. Once logged in, you can use "show only items in the free case collection" tick box in the product search to search all free cases.
• Copenhagen Business School Case Studies (Case Centre)

  Cases focus on responsible management, social responsibility, anti-corruption, and sustainability. With responsible management as a common theme, cases address a number of interdisciplinary subjects, making them suitable for a wide range of business courses. New free cases are added regularly.
• Eforce Case Studies (Case Centre)

  Free case collection that includes 18 innovative teaching cases on technology entrepreneurship. The cases all have accompanying teaching notes and many have media support items, details of which are displayed in product search.
• Highlighted Cases and Case Studies: Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative

  Online library of "simple, straightforward business cases focused on principle-based ethics."
• Ivey Business School (UWO) free cases

  Ivey is well known for its case method of learning and is a top publisher of business cases worldwide. Approximately 20 free cases are available.
• LearningEdge at MIT Sloan

  Collection of teaching case studies developed by MIT Sloan faculty and students. May be downloaded, copied, distributed free of charge by anyone through creative commons license. Topics include entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.
• Legatum Center for Development and Entrepreneurship at MIT (Case Centre)

  Collection of cases that focus on the thought processes of entrepreneurs, the challenges they face, and the solutions they devise as they develop their businesses. Cases are available without charge to help teachers, students, and aspiring entrepreneurs.
• oikos International Cases

  Currently consists of over 80 peer-reviewed cases on sustainability in management and entrepreneurship.
• Society of Human Resources Management

  Case studies are available for HR faculty and instructors to use in HR classrooms at universities, as expressed in the Terms of Use for Faculty. Teaching notes are often included with each.
• Stanford Graduate School of Business - free cases

  Click on "Narrow your results" and then under Availability select "Available to download at no charge."
• Stanford Graduate School of Business Case Studies (Case Centre)

  Cases are available free to registered educators at thecasecentre.org. Covers a wide range of topics including Entrepreneurship, Strategic Management, Social Innovation, Global Supply Chain, and International Business.
• World Business Council for Sustainable Development Case Studies

  WBCSD is a global, CEO-led organization of over 200 leading businesses working together to accelerate the transition to a sustainable world.