GSU Library Research Guides: ENGL 8670: English (British) Literature of Transition: Periodicals

Indexes to 19th Century Magazines & Journals

Find articles and reviews of books on various topics in 19th century periodicals.

Early British Periodicals: A Guide to the Reels of the Microfilm Collection
Includes title, subject, editor, and reel number indexes.
HathiTrust
Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It offers an interdisciplinary journal archive across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive offers an interlinked aggregation of scholarly works as well as long-term preservation.
New York Times, 1851-2012
Offers full text coverage from 1851 to 2012 of the arrival of immigrants, the global financial markets, the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, medical innovations, and more.
Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Provides a detailed account of US culture and history in a searchable database including articles from popular US magazines. It offers full coverage of the original paper volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
Times Digital Archive
An online, full-text archive of over 200 years of The Times (the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication). This archive details every issue from 1785 - 1985, covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.

About 19th Century Periodicals

British Literary Magazines
Publication information and history for selected periodicals published between 1837-1913.
Periodicals of Queen Victoria's Empire
Essays in this volume identify and describe all locally produced publications that appeared at weekly or longer intervals across Queen Victoria's empire. Each chapter presents an evaluation of the quantity and quality of guides available to periodical literature in each region, from basic bibliographies of periodicals, directories, and finding aids, to microfilm records and databases on the Internet.
The Routledge Handbook to Nineteenth-Century British Periodicals and Newspapers
Providing a comprehensive, interdisciplinary examination of scholarship on nineteenth-century British periodicals, this volume surveys the current state of research and offers researchers an in-depth examination of contemporary methodologies.
Victorian Periodicals, Volume 2 by Don J. Vann (Editor)
ISBN: 9780873522649
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
This volume explores disciplines that have evolved in the years since the publication of volume 1. It discusses fields ranging from art history to feminist studies to religion through the study of the radical press, publisher's archives, periodicals of the 1890s, children's periodicals, and Scottish and Welsh periodicals. The appendixes update the essays in the first volume.
Victorian Periodicals and Victorian Society
A guide to the exploration of Victorian society including professions, the arts, occupations and commerce, and popular culture as seen through periodicals.
Women, Work and the Victorian Periodical
Covering a wide range of magazine work, including editing, illustration, poetry, needlework instruction and typesetting, this book provides fresh insights into the participation of women in the nineteenth-century magazine industry.

Subject Librarian

Leslie Madden

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Library South
Suite 542

404-413-2807

Subjects: Applied Linguistics and ESL, English, Philosophy, Religious Studies, World Languages & Cultures

Locating 19th Century Magazines

Union catalogs list library holdings of specific magazines and journals at the volume and issue level.

British Union Catalog of Periodicals
A record of periodicals of the world, from the 17th to 20th centuries, held in British libraries.
Union List of Victorian Serials
A selected list of 19th century British serials available in United States and Canadian libraries.

Research Aids

Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages, 1830-1910
This volume discusses traditional and new resources for researching British literature of the Victorian and Edwardian ages and the ways in which those resources can be used in conjunction with one another.
Literary Research Guide by James L. Harner
See the section on 19th century English literature.