Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives Student Assistant Guide: General Information

A helpful guide for student assistants working in Special Collections.

Welcome to the team!

Special Collections and Archives collects and preserves unique and rare historical materials in selected subject areas. The department promotes the use of these materials by the Georgia State University community, scholars and the public. Its goal is to advance scholarship and to further the educational, research and service missions of the university. Student assistants help with outreach activities, social media, reference, processing collections, and other special projects!

Department Contact Information

Christina Zamon - Head of Special Collections & Archives 

404.413.2889  |  czamon1@gsu.edu

Bill Hardesty - Assistant Head of Special Collections & Archives 

404.413.2890  |  whardesty@gsu.edu

Barbara Mctyre - Library Technical Assistant 

404.413.2810  |  bmctyre@gsu.edu

Hal Hansen - Archival Associate  

404.413.2894  |  hhansen5@gsu.edu

Hilary Morrish - Archival Associate 

404.413.2895  |  hmorrish1@gsu.edu

Jennifer Brown - Outreach & Access Library Associate 

404.413.2733  |  jbrown318@gsu.edu

Katherine Fisher - Digital Preservation & Social Change Archivist 

404.413.2893  |  kfisher11@gsu.edu

Kevin Fleming - Popular Music and Culture Archivist 

404.413.2891  |  kfleming@gsu.edu

Laurel Bowen - University Archivist 

404.413.2887  |  lbowen@gsu.edu

Michelle Asci - AJC Photo Specialist 

404.413.2742  |  masci1@gsu.edu

Morna Gerrard - Women & Gender Archivist 

404.413.2888  |  mgerrar@gsu.edu

Traci Drummond - Southern Labor Archivist  

404.413.2886  |  tdrummond@gsu.edu

 

 

Important Numbers

GSU Police

404.413.3333  

Library Circulation Desk 

- For questions about overdue books, holds, etc.

404.413.2820   

Library Reference Desk

-For questions about library related databases, books, research, etc.

404.413.2800

 

Reading Room Hours & Contact Info

Hours:

8:30 am to 6:00 pm, Monday-Friday.

Saturday hours are 12:00 to 6:00 pm, by appointment must be made by 4:00 pm on Thursday.

Phone number:

404.413.2880 ext. 2880

Fax:

404.413.2881

Email:

archives@gsu.edu

Address:

Georgia State University Library

103 Decatur St. SE

Library South Room 800

Atlanta, GA 30303

 

 

Find us here!

                                     

                                          

 

It's helpful to follow and check these accounts for up-to-date information about events and/or new collections and happenings in the department. 

 

 

Librarian