Skip to main content

ENGL 2131 American Literature: Find Articles

The guide is for ENGL 2131 (American Literature) class.

Logging into Research Databases

Log into Research Databases from the Library homepage or iCollege by using your Panther ID and password; you will not need the GALILEO password.

The GALILEO password changes every semester.

Get the password in iCollege or your library acccount.

 

More GALILEO Video Tutorials

Recommended Journal

GALILEO Discover Tool

 

 

The DISCOVER tool allows you to search multiple sources and the library catalog at once.  (You can try it out in the search box above.)

Things you should know:

  • It does not include Literature Resource Center, Bloom's, Lexis Nexis and some other GSU databases.
  • Some databases, like Literary Reference Center, are in Discover but results are much easier to refine and read by going to the specific database.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are optional.
  • It includes GIL-Find resources, including books and DVDs.
  • It does not give you the same limiters as searching individual databases.
  • Advanced Search lets you narrow by discipline and assists you with more complex searching.

Video Tutorials

Top Tips for Effective Database Searching

 TIP #1 - Watch the video tutorials to learn how to use research databases effectively 

 TIP #2 - Password Issues? If you log into iCollege and use the GALILEO link on the top of the page, you will not need the GALILEO password. 

TIP #3 - Improve your searching by using Subject Terms instead of Keywords. Most databases make a distinction between keywords, which will search within the title, author, abstract, etc. of the articles (and sometimes, but not always, the text of the article) and subject terms, which are designated terms that describe the main topics of the article.  Search using Subject Terms video tutorial

TIP #4 - Try using specific databases in GALILEO instead of the Discover Search.

 

To get to specific databases:  

 

  1. Go to the Library homepage at  http://library.gsu.edu/
  2. Under "Databases A-Z" click on the first letter of the database you want.
  3. Find the database in the list, and select the database of your choice. Use the letters or the search box to locate the database you want.  Off-campus you will be prompted for your username and password. This is the same as your iCollege username and password.

 

 To locate more databases that pertain to your particular topic: 

 

  1. Go to the Library homepage.
  2. Click on "Go To Databases By Subject".
  3. Click on the subject closest to your topic to find recommended databases for that topic.
  4. Remember you can always ask a librarian to recommend databases for your topic!

 

Library Information


All Hours

Contact Us: