Skip to main content

Domestic Violence Curriculum: Clothesline Project

Silenced Voices: Clothesline Project

Assignement for Clothesline Project


The clothesline project provides a creative venue to advocate for domestic violence survivors and victims. It gives an opportunity for kinesthetic and visual learners to develop a tangible work of art, while giving voice to silenced victims and standing with survivors of domestic violence. Below are some examples of Clothesline Project shirts and a link to the Clothesline Project's website.

    

 


For this project, each student will decorate a t-shirt with words, pictures, or symbols that represent the emotions experienced or expressed throughout the unit. After they create the t-shirts, students will be given the opportunity to publish their work through a Clothesline gallery to which they will invite members of their family, school, and community. The t-shirts will be hung around the room for all to observe silently. An opportunity for dialogue between the students, family, school, and community will be opened after the silent gallery observation.


More information can be found here:

http://www.clotheslineproject.org/

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory