Skip to main content

Rhetoric and Composition: Assignments

Basic Reference

Use these resources in the Reference Collection found in Library North on the 2nd floor.

The Little, Brown handbook- Ref PE112 .F6 2004

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary Ref. PE1628 .M36 1993

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers- Ref LB2369 .G53 2003 Use this handbook for formatting your citations for a research paper.

Graduation Portfolio

All English majors must submit a portfolio of work in the final semester of their senior year; this portfolio must be passed by the faculty committee in order for the student to graduate. Each student must include one or two assignments from each course in the major; they should be added as each course is finished. In addition, a reflective essay is written for the portfolio to illustrate the studetn's growth, thoughtfulness, and expertise as a writer.

In Rhetoric and Composition, the portfolio is submitted electronically. Criteria for assessing the portfolio are available on the website for the English department here.

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies are often part of a research assignment. What is a bibliography? Your bibliography is the list of sources used in your paper in alphabetical order following the style recommended by your instructor.  When you annotate the citation, you summarize the content of the work and tell your reader the reason this work is important to your research. A list of sources helps your instructor to verify the validity of your research and provides a starting point for others who wish to research the same topic. Use bibliographies you find in books and articles to help you find other sources. See How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography for further tips.

The terms rhetorical précis are often used in connection with annotated bibliographies. See Margaret Woodworth's article The Rhetorical Précis for more details on this method of summarizing a work's content.

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Library South
Suite 542