Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: WSB Radio History: 1990s

This guide chronicles the history of Atlanta's first radio station.

Personnel 1990-1999

Mark Alewine Mark Alewine
Mark began his career at WSB in 1994 and is still part of the WSB news department.
Neal Boortz Neal Boortz
Boortz began his tenure as WSB Talkmaster in 1993. He is heard Monday through Friday from 8:30AM until 1PM. In 2007 Neal was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.
ED Buice Ed Buice
Ed came to WSB in 1991and left in 1992.
 

Chris Camp
Chris is WSB News Director. He joined the station in 1992.

 

Ted Clark Ted Clark
Ted came to WSB in 1996 and as producer of Atlanta's Morning News and weekend sports talk host.
Calandra Corder Calandra Corder
From 1996 until 2006, Calandra was a news anchor and traffic reporter for WSB.
 

Bob Coxe
Bob has co-anchored Atlanta's Morning News since 1993.

 

Jeff Dantre Jeff Dantre
Jeff joined the news team at WSB Radio in 1997 as a reporter.
Jamie Dupree Jamie Dupree
Jamie is the Washington correspondent for WSB Radio.
Jason Durden Jason Durden
Jason began reporting traffic in 1996.
Herb Emory Herb Emory
Captain Herb has been the major domo in the WSB Skycopter lounge since 1991. He also hosts a NASCAR talk show on weekends, Emory was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame in 2008. 
Steve Getty Steve Getty
Steve did sports reporting and hosted sports talk shows on WSB from 1995 until 2003.
Phil Hendrie Phil Hendrie
Hendrie hosted a talk show host on WSB from 1991 until 1992.

 
Steve Holman Steve Holman
Steve joined WSB in 1995 as radio voice of the Atlanta Hawks, He also did sports on Atlanta’s Morning News.
Clark Howard Clark Howard
Clark has hosted a talk show host on WSB weekdays from 1 until 4PM since 1991. He was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame in 2007.
Tom Hughes Tom Hughes
Tom was a substitute/vacation relief host on Atlanta’s Morning News from 1997 until 1999.
 

Jon Lewis
Jon joined WSB in 1998 as a reporter/anchor.

 

Shannon Lukens Shannon Lukens
Shannon joined WSB Radio as a reporter on Atlanta's morning news in 1992 and stayed until 1993.
Royal Marshall Royal Marshall
Royal was hired by WSB to engineer the overnight shift in 1993, later promoted to daytime, then again to engineer of the Neal Boortz show.  He hosted his own show, The Royal Treatment, for a time. 
 

Greg Masters
Greg hosted sports talk and anchored sports news shows from 1991 until 1997.

 

Gary McKee Gary McKee
Gary hosted "The Hometown Radio Show" and the morning show at WSB FM in the 90’s.
  Dave Mezzaros
Dave joined WSB in 1996 and was a General Manager until 2009.


 
Greg Moceri Greg Moceri
Greg came to for WSB as program director in 1992 and stayed until 1992.
Beverly Mollander Beverly Mollander
Beverly came to WSB in 1993 to direct the new Consumer Action Center founded by Clark Howard.
Chris Monroe Chris Monroe
Chris came to WSB in 1997 and was a traffic reporter until 2002.
Marc Morgan Marc Morgan
Marc joined WSB as General Manager in 1992 and is now Vice President and Chief Operating Officer for Cox Radio.
Jane Norris Jane Norris
Jane came to WSB in 1992 and was a fill in talk show host but never got a permanent position. She left in 1993.

 

  Lisa Nicholas
Lisa was a reporter and anchor for WSB Radio from 1993 until 2000.


 
Bob Parlante Bob Parlante
Bob came to WSB as a news anchor in 1998 and stayed until 2006.
Sandra Parrish Sandra Parrish
Sandra has been a reporter for WSB Radio since 1995.
Walter Reeves Walter Reeves
Walter has hosted the Lawn and Garden Show on WSB each Saturday since 1994.
Matt Reis Matt Reis
Matt was a reporter, anchor, and talk show host at WSB from 1995 until 2000.
Richard Sangster Richard SangsterRichard has been a reporter and part of Atlanta’s Morning News since 1992.
 

John Talbert
John was chief engineer for WSB Radio from 1997 to 1999.

 

Jeff Van Note Jeff Van Note
Jeff did color for WSB’s Atlanta Falcon broadcasts as well as hosting sports talk shows from1990 to 1998.
Veronica Waters Veronica WatersVeronica came to WSB in 1997. She has served as an evening anchor, a general assignment reporter and part-time anchor. Veronica has won several awards for her work.
Marcy Williams Marcy Williams
Marcy has co-anchored Atlanta's Morning News since 1993.
O'Neill Williams O'Niell Williams
He hosts “O’Niell Outside” every Saturday morning from 4 until 6 AM dispensing valuable information for fishing and hunting enthusiasts.
Neil Williamson Neil Williamson
Williamson joined WSB in 1991. He is co-host of the Bulldogs Tailgate Show, Half-Time and Post-Game shows and serves as spotter during the games. He is also the host of two weekly in-season Georgia Bulldogs football programs: "The Bulldog Brunch" and "Best of the Bulldogs."

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory