Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia State University History: Centennial Exhibits

A guide to the history of Georgia State University.

Research Sources--Academics

The following sources were used in the production of Scholarly Enterprise: Georgia State Academics, the library's last centennial exhibit.

Fact Books, 1971-1996/97.  Boxes 8-10a, GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

Catalogs/Bulletins [undergraduate and graduate], 1930-2010/11.  Boxes 64-73k, GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

Annual Reports [from Deans to President], 1956/57-1994/95.  GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

University System of Georgia--Board of Regents Minutes, 1995-1998.  GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives; and University System of Georgia website (http://www.usg.edu/regents/meetings).

Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Office of Institutional Research, Georgia State University.  Special thanks for providing research and data re: graduate students, and "research university" designation.

Office of the Provost, Georgia State University.  Special thanks for providing research and data re: Regents professors.

University Archives photographs, in Digital Collections, Georgia State University Library.

"GSU History," on the University Archives website.

Ben F. Johnson interview by Clifford Kuhn, 26 May 1992, Public Figures Series, Georgia Government Documentation Project, GSU Special Collections & Archives.

"On the Cutting Edge: Areas of Excellence at GSU," on the University Archives website.

Digital Assets Library [photographs], 2000-date.  Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications, Georgia State University.

Rampway [yearbook], GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

Milestones [GSU College of Education publication], GSU Printed Collection, Box 163.

[GSU College of Health Sciences newsletters], GSU Printed Collection, Box 170.

Merl Reed.  Educating the Urban New South:  Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969.  Macon, GA:  Mercer University, 2009.

Merl Reed.  "Educating the Urban New South:  Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969."  Unpublished manuscript, G2009-58, Georgia State University Archives. 

Research Sources--Sports & Recreation

The following sources were used in the production of Panther Pride:  Georgia State Sports & Recreation, the library's third centennial exhibit.

Nocturne, Gateway, Rampway [yearbooks], GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

University Archives photographs, in Digital Collections, Georgia State University Library.

"GSU History," on the University Archives website.

Georgia State Athletics--Sports Communications.  "Panthers Athletics:  50 Years Strong," [2013].

Digital Assets Library [photographs], 2000-date.  Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications, Georgia State University.

Merl Reed.  Educating the Urban New South:  Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969.  Macon, GA:  Mercer University Press, 2009.

Research Sources--Pioneers

The following sources were used in the production of People & Places: Georgia State's Urban Pioneers, the library's second centennial exhibit.

University Archives photographs, in Digital Collections, Georgia State University Library.

"GSU History," on the University Archives website.

Nocturne [yearbooks], GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

Merl Reed.  Educating the Urban New South: Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969.  Macon, GA: Mercer University, 2009.

"Moving Around Town in Downtown:  GSU's Earliest Locations, 1914-1955" [blog], University Archives website.

GSU Centennial blogs, University Archives website.

 

Research Sources--Diversity

The following sources were used in the production of The Changing Face of GSU: The Road to Diversitythe library's first centennial exhibit.

Merl Reed. Educating the Urban New South: Atlanta and the Rise of Georgia State University, 1913-1969. Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 2009.

Fact Books, 1971-1996/97. Boxes 8-10a, GSU Printed Collection, University Archives.

Affirmative Action Reports, 1973/74-1993/94. Boxes 50-54b, GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

Catalogs/Bulletins, 1930-2010/11. Boxes 64-73-k, GSU Printed Collection, Georgia State University Archives.

University Data Warehouse via IPORT.

Office of Institutional Research, Georgia State University. Special thanks to the Office of Institutional Research for providing data tailored to the specific needs of this exhibit.

University Archives photographs, in Digital Collections, Georgia State University Library.

Digital Assets Library [photographs], 2000-date. Division of Public Relations and Marketing Communications, Georgia State University.

"GSU History," on the University Archives website.

Georgia Students for Public Higher Education (GSPHE)--Photographs etc. re: protests, April 2011 ff. G2011-11, Georgia State University Archives.

Signal, Evening Signal, Junior Collegiate, Technite [student newspaper], Georgia State University Archives.

Registrar's Office--Statistical Reports, etc., 1940s-1960s, 1980s-1990s. G2008-15, Georgia State University Archives.

"Enrollment by Self-Declared Race/Ethnicity," in University System of Georgia--Board of Regents, "Semester Enrollment Report, Fall 2012," page 4. Provided by the Office of Institutional Research, Georgia State University. Note: For each institution, the number of students who self-identified as one of the four major minority groups (Hispanic, Asian, and either Black or White) were added together. This number was divided by the total current enrollment for each institution to determine the percentage of each institution that is comprised of the main minority groups. The percentages were compared. Georgia State University has the largest percentage of these minority racial/ethnic groups (54% Black/Asian/Hispanic). Georgia Perimeter College (51% White/Asian/Hispanic) and Georgia Gwinnett College (51% Black/Asian/Hispanic) tie for second.

Georgia State University "Diversity Strategic Plan, 2011-2016," May 17, 2011. GSU Planning and Development Committee--Ad Hoc Subcommittee for Review of the Diversity Strategic Plan. Georgia State University website [accessed October 2012]: http://www.gsu.edu/images/diversity/DiversityStrategicPlan2011-2016.pdf

"Identification of Global Competencies for a GSU Global Workplace Inclusion and Global Competency Certificate Training Program, November 7, 2012." Provided by the Office of Diversity Education Planning, Georgia State University.

Annie Wise photo, in James B. Nevin, ed., Prominent Women of Georgia (Atlanta, GA: National Biographical Publishers, [1928?], page 120.

Annette Hall photo, in David Smith, Jr., Georgia State University: An Institutional History, 1913-2002 (David Smith, Jr., 2010), page 310.

Scholarly Enterprise: Georgia State Academics

To mark Georgia State University’s centennial, the university library will host a series of exhibits throughout 2013. For our last exhibit we present Scholarly Enterprise: Georgia State Academics.

Georgia State University began as a small night school offering commerce courses and a single bachelor's degree.  Rapid enrollment growth, liberal arts courses, and daytime classes resulted in an independent Georgia State College of Business Administration (1955) which granted a B.B.A. in 8 fields of study and provided two-year arts and sciences programs.

Starting in the late 1950s, graduate programs and degrees began to be offered.  By 1968 programs in business, arts and sciences, education, health, and "general studies" provided a total of 11 master and doctorate degrees in over 15 areas of study.  The Board of Regents granted university status in 1969.

Georgia State achieved research university designation by the late 1990s.  Today the university has 100 fields of study with 250 degree programs offered through eight colleges.

If you can't make it to Georgia State University Library's facility, you can still view the exhibit here. Just click each image below to see the full panel.

Panther Pride: Georgia State Sports & Recreation

To mark Georgia State University’s centennial, the university library will host a series of exhibits throughout 2013. For our third exhibit we present Panther Pride: Georgia State Sports & Recreation.

While academics were the primary focus of our early career-minded students, recreational activities and then athletics competitions soon followed. Riding was popular and the Spur Club, formed in 1936, grew rapidly. Bowling, tennis, skating, and volleyball were also favorites.

If you can't make it to Georgia State University Library's facility, you can still view the exhibit here. Just click each image below to see the full panel.

People & Places: Georgia State's Urban Pioneers

To mark Georgia State University’s centennial, the university library will host a series of exhibits throughout 2013. For our second exhibit we present People & Places: Georgia State's Urban Pioneers.

Georgia State University's come a long way!  From a commuter night school in downtown Atlanta specializing in adult education for local businessmen to a fully accredited urban research university with satellite campuses and dormitories for the most diverse student body in the University System, Georgia State University has been a trailblazer.

Starting out as the Tech NIght School, then briefly independent under a newly formed Board of Regents, and for a time captured by the University of Georgia as its Atlanta Division, this enterprising pioneer skillfully navigated its urban wilderness to assume its own self-determined identity.

Meet the people and explore the places that defined Georgia State University.

If you can't make it to Georgia State University Library's facility, you can still view the exhibit here. Just click each image below to see the full panel.

 

 

The Changing Face of GSU: The Road to Diversity

To mark Georgia State University’s centennial, the university library will host a series of exhibits throughout 2013. To kick off a year of celebration, we present The Changing Face of GSU: The Road to Diversity.

This exhibit focuses on Georgia State University’s evolution from a night school for white businessmen to a diverse campus committed to providing the highest quality of education in an inclusive environment. The display features unique photos and facts from Georgia State University Library’s Special Collections and Archives. This exhibit is physically hosted next to our Library South entrance. Throughout 2013 the library plans to continue the centennial celebration with more exhibits about Georgia State University’s unique history. 

If you can't make it to Georgia State University Library's facility, you can still view the exhibit here. Just click each image below to see the full panel.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Blogs About University Centennial

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory