Skip to main content

Public Management & Policy: Government Information

Search tips and research resources for topics related to management in the public sector and public policy. Also includes resources for citing sources.

Reference

Web search engines


A single location for searching across U.S. government websites (federal, state and local government).

U.S. government's official interagency web portal that can be used to find government information and services.

Search GIL

The GSU Library catalog, GIL, also indexes print and electronic government documents. To limit a GIL search to just government documents:

  • Click on the gray Narrow My Search button in the bottom right corner of the Keyword Search screen.
  • Next to Location, select University Library Government Documents.
  • Click the Narrow My Search button at the top or bottom of the page to activate the limit and enter your search terms.
  • You will find both print and electronic documents in the catalog. For print items, the call # will look different from a regular Library of Congress call #. See box to the right for help using these special government document call #s.
  • Print government documents can be found on the 4th floor of Library South.

Georgia government

Contains scanned images of public documents of departments or agencies within the Georgia state government. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation.

Policy briefs

Source for theory and research in international affairs from 1991 to present. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

 

Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Covers 1923 to present.

Legal/legislative information

Tracks the path legislation takes through Congress, including how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. Covers 1945 to present.

 

Legal Collection (at EBSCOhost)

Covers more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Offers information on law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medicine, labor and human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
 
Includes legal news and government publications, such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc., and law reviews.

SuDoc Call #s

This PDF guide outlines the key differences between Library of Congress and SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) call number systems.

Always feel free to Ask-A-Librarian if you need further assistance finding a print government document.

 

Librarian - Asst Prof

La Loria Konata's picture
La Loria Konata
Contact:
La Loria Konata
Library South, 542
404.413.2802
Website