Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page....
GALILEO databases recommended for your literary research assignment.
These databases are your best bets for literary criticism and author biographies in the order I recommend them for most literature projects. Click on the title to go to the database.
For Students (Complete Collection)
The For Students series includes: Drama for Students, Epics for Students, Literary Movements for Students, Literary Newsmakers for Students, and Literary Themes for Students.
Brings together collections of essays, commentary, criticism, primary sources and biographical information related to literature, history and culture from a variety of sources including content from Literature Criticism Online and selected authoritative reference works from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
An online collection of of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of the resources or use the subject links on the left-hand side to search specific works in the collection.
Features content from Facts On File's extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom's essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint. Also contains an archive of more than 46,000 characters; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; almost 170 video segments; and more.
These video tutorials and step-by-step tutorials will help you use Literature Databases more effectively.